We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”
Review of La Dolce Vita

La Dolce Vita
Ranked #10 of 43 Restaurants in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Lunch for 6 people, including a tip was R610. The pasta was well prepared and looked divine. The rump and fillet steak was cheap - R100 for 300g of rump. You get a side salad as well as vegetables with your meal. Their coffee is a proper mug and you even get cream in the side. Definitely a restaurant to visit

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thinus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    51
    19
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
62 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best ostrich of all”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Outdoor and indoor seating. Dinner for two incl. wine was 200 Rand. Value for money. Nice atmosphere and very friendly staff. Walking distance from The Queens Hotel.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lars A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great affordable food and atmosphere!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The only reason we randomly chose this place was because we saw there's a special Mad Mondays: 1/2 price on main meals and grill.

Food: We had grilled chicken breast and grilled ostrich of course! The meat was cooked perfectly, the chicken was tender and juicy and flavourful. The ostrich was chewy, like the texture of beef-meat, with no particular strong taste. The side dishes (both the salad and the vegetables) were super good! The food was so good that it made me forgive them for the long wait~

Service: Slow, SUPER EXTRA slow, because of special Mondays? I don't know. I have been to busier restaurants and did not had to wait over an hour in the cold for my food to come... The only reason why I didn't gave a 5 stars~

Value: Inexpensive!!

Atmosphere: There's maybe 2 tables indoor, most of seating are outdoor. As the night turns darker, they turned on the candlelight on the table and it was really cute and nice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelEatSmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranst
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A tasty Italian place with nice local influence”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The owners of our guesthouse recommanded La Dolce Vita for us, we've asked them for a good afordable restaurant in Oudtshoorn and their you go, La Dolce Vita was the perfect choice!
Make a reservation if you want to go in the weekend and you definetly have to try a local starter called Triplet of Ostrich (not sure about the name but you will find it with this discription). It's a plate with grilled ostrich meat, ostrich carpaccio and ostrich paté, fantastic!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jasper C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eaglescliffe
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great foid, friendly service”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Best place we ate in Oudtshoorn! Delicious food, nice spot in town that was easy to walk to from our b&b, and staff were very helpful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2giraffes_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Dolce Vita also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing