We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aloe Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aloe Manor
Ranked #49 of 77 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Great guest house and great host! My family and I have stayed over a number of times and always find it a wonderfully refreshing experience. We just love the succulent garden and lush surroundings that is indigenous to the Karoo. The rooms are modern, well designed and super comfy.Hanette goes out of her way to make you feel at home and we always look back to returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francois_de_Kock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    8
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
14
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Very good service - kind and friendly people ! Very fair pricing and pls. use the laundry service - that one is excellent ! The family room beds were hard as a brick ! I was promised they would exchange them shortly. Clean room - good average. I explained to the owner that "Luxury" for a Swiss origin - is something else. The wooden outdoor furniture needs replacement! We enjoyed the stay very much and Yes, we would go back ! a MUST is to eat at KALINKA in town !!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OleSchweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

Hanette and family made our stay such a pleasure. The rooms are spacious and very tidy with such attention to detail. the breakfast was nice and fresh and served with love.
i highly recommend this to anyone planning to stay in Outshoorn.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megnair28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Hanette makes this guesthouse a very special place to stay. She went out of her way to make us feel very comfortable and at home. I was back in South Africa for a wedding and Hanette confirmed again for me the hospitality you can expect from most South Africans. The rooms were spacious and clean with comfortable beds. The bathrooms are large, modern and very clean. The breakfast each morning was a real treat and the native garden with all the birds it attracts was a pleasure. Unfortunately we could not make use of the swimming pool due to some very un-Oudtshoorn like weather. The guesthouse is situated away from the hussle and bussle of the CBD and if you are looking for quiet and peace, this is the place to go. I highly recommend this establishment with its friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McCubbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

Hanette welcomed us very warmly and we had a really enjoyable stay at the Aloe Manor. Our room was spacious, clean with many small touches that made it very special, especially a jacuzzi in the bath! Aloe Manor is quite a way out of Oudtshoorn but we had a car so that wasn't a problem. Breakfast was excellent and we would thoroughly recommend this Guest House.

Room Tip: Our room was Room 6 - very quiet and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arliatna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Although we weren't on holiday and it was a difficult time for my wife(her father passed) Hanette and her son were amazing hosts, very accommodating during a difficult time, great peaceful surroundings, we couldn't ask for more. We will see you next time with our 4 yr old son, I'm sure we won't get him out of that lovely pool.....you have been warned!!! :-) thank you so much

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jathca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

Hanette really has gone out of her way to make this guesthouse a luxurious stay. The room was spacious, comfortable and warm- given the chilly weather in Oudtshoorn at present. Breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented. The property is well maintained with a lovely garden and pool area. I would highly recommend a visit

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Atiz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.0 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shadowlands Guest Farm
Shadowlands Guest Farm
#35 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#3 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
#11 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.0 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloe Manor

Property: Aloe Manor
Address: Jan van Riebeeck Road 54, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloe Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Aloe Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing