We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed at the Turnberry Boutique Hotel in Oudtshoorn on our recent and first visit to South Africa. The hotel was very well maintained and clean. The rooms were very very clean as well. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful. The location of the hotel is great. We would highly recommend the hotel to anyone who is visiting Oudtshoorn.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

We had dinner at turnberry one night during the 2013 kknk and had such a great time! Food was lovely and the service was excellent, especially a girl named Bianca who offered a blancket when she saw we were getting cold as we were sitting outside and it was quite chilly out! We will be returnig for a visit soon!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jolandi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turnberryodn, Owner at Turnberry Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Thank you for you happy response! Looking forward welcoming you back to Turnberrry in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Maybe we are biased by the last Trip Adviser review we read ( see Josue d) as we approach the hotel; however after we arrive and begin our checkin process, there is a very cold unwelcoming blonde lady who answers our queries in a perfunctory way.

The carpet upstairs looks as if it could use a good vacuuming as mentioned in the complaining review and the room although large feels dated and old. My husband has a problem with wifi and the fellow at the desk know him they are full upland try later. Ditto on the air conditioning: looks like he'ld rather meet and greet with his chums.

One of our party is up to 2 because of the noise at the bar ( and the hotel sure doesn't look full up) so we can partially agree with the prior review and wonder how this might be listed as a 5 star. No one to help with bags,less than welcomg staff and so-so accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unhappytraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turnberryodn, Owner at Turnberry Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Regrettably, we could not live up to your standards, for which I apologize. Please note that the hotel is rated 4 star and not 5 star as you have mentioned. This may have contributed to your expectations not being fully met.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The hotel was very welcoming and offered help with local attractions with loads of brochures.
Hotel room well appointed, clean and comfortable, with good working air conditioning.
Breakfast offered both continental and full cooked which were both quie extensive.
Overall a very satisfactory stay

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessanddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

After a few splendid days in Stellenbosch we set off for Oudtshoorn, not sure whether it would take us one or two days to get there. The weather was so-so and we found ourselves easily arriving late afternoon in Oudtshoorn. We had taken Turnberry Hotel as a reference for our satnav and, as the town's visitor information center had just closed we tried our luck and asked if the hotel had a room vacant. All they had was the presidential suite, which to our pleasant surprise was made ready for us in less than 15 minutes at what we believed was an extremely reasonable rate. A lovely and very service-oriented approach by hotel receptionist Charmaine, complimentary coffee during the short wait for our room to be ready, and being shown around the suite by another lovely young lady named Billie-Jean... made us feel very presidential indeed. If you are in Oudtshoorn and feel that you're in for a treat, ask for the presidential suite and enjoy!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gerardpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Turnberry Lodge is centrally located in town and is very noisy. The room was not very clean and the swimming pool , well, you can not call that a swimming pool. We really did not like this place and were happy that we could leave after one day. The staff is rude and not helpfull at all.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank josue d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turnberryodn, Owner at Turnberry Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble of writing a review on our hotel. However, I strongly believe that you have the wrong property in mind. I am referring to all the other reviews on TripAdvisor and elsewhere. I do not believe that my staff is rude or unfriendly or unhelpful or any of your other comments, for that matter. You are welcome to contact me personally, send me the invoice of your night's stay at Turnberry Boutique Hotel and I will gladly refund you your money. My personal details are on our website (as it also are in all our rooms). I strongly believe that this is malicious review as we do not have any records of your stay at Turnberry Boutique Hotel or received any complaints as in your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

My family and I stayed a night at Turnberry in January and we were so impressed with the quality of the service, the size of the rooms and the close proximity to shops and restaurants. Thanks to Neil and Billy Jean for making our stay so comfortable, we will be back. Turnberry is centrally positioned in Oudtshoorn to all the tourist attractions. The security was good and we felt completely safe.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gavin021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
523 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
1.1 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
367 reviews
15.9 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oudtshoorn Inn Hotel and Conferencing Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turnberry Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turnberry Boutique Hotel

Address: 130 St John Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa (Formerly Turnberry Lodge & Tavern)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £58 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Turnberry Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star Turnberry Boutique Hotel is situated in the centre of the picturesque Klein Karoo town of Oudtshoorn, South Africa. A warm welcome awaits visitors to the heart of the Klein Karoo. Relax in the comfort of one of the 22 luxurious air-conditioned bedrooms (each with satellite television, a coffee station and a mini bar), all with en-suite bathrooms, and cosy double beds fitted with crisp white linen. Each room also has free wireless Internet connection. Relax on leather couches in our cool classy tavern at the very heart of the Lodge, and enjoy a casual pub lunch or a delicious dinner. Spend the afternoon cooling off in the sparkling swimming pool, and take cocktails on the patio overlooking the stark beauty of the Klein Karoo at sundown. Turnberry Boutique Hotel boasts a state-of-the-art air-conditioned conference facility that can seat up to eighty people - ideal for conferences, weddings, cocktail parties and other occasions. There is ample safe undercover parking and we are situated in the centre of Oudtshoorn. On your arrival, we will plan your visit to all the attractions Oudtshoorn has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Turnberry Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing