We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently situated, all mod cons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Knysna
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Conveniently situated, all mod cons”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Well appointed, great bed, good warm shower. Friendly service, clean, WiFi available. Great bar (just a pity it allows smoking inside). Good breakfast. Switch the heater on (aircon) on cold days before guests arrive. Thanks for the great bottle of sparkling wine arranged late at night for us by Neil....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProteaWilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turnberryodn, Owner at Turnberry Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feed-back assists us in continuously providing a better service.Your comments on the our pub is noted. We look forward welcoming you back to Turnberry on the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    101
    42
    4
    7
See reviews for
72
123
8
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is a really amazing beauty! Great rooms, great public areas, warm and friendly Pub. What else could you expect with Niel Els magic touch.

I highly recommend Turnberry Hotel if you travelling into Oudtshoorn.
We stayed for two nights and were really well looked after by Niel and his team.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Niel upgraded us to the "Presidential Suite"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyHolidaysSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I have been fortunate to stay at the Turnberry Boutique Hotel during two previous KKNK events and it was an experience to behold. With Niel Els being an wonderful host and chef , his the staff always friendly and helpful, creating an home from home. Thanks again for an great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reuel333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We arrived early and left our gear with them, we wanted to go on the meekat adventure and htey helped organise it, we came back just before breakfast finished and they allowed us to have breakfast late.

Thanks heaps. The room was terrific and comfy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turnberryodn, Owner at Turnberry Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Always good to have Aussies in our hotel! We are here to serve and we thank you for visiting South Africa and Oudtshoorn! Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I am late in writing this review, but wanted to register our extreme thanks to Neil and his staff for the amazing hospitality and accommodation we enjoyed during our three days at the Turnberry in December. Staff (hello to Adrian, and all the ladies in the kitchen!) were completely attentive to our every need and the rooms were well-appointed, comfortable, ultra clean and modern. Breakfasts were excellent as was the braai dinner one night. We were very grateful for the assistance in planning our activities in the Oudtshoorn area. It really could not have been a more enjoyable experience. We hope we can return one day for another break from a Canadian winter!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turnberryodn, Owner at Turnberry Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for visiting South Africa and Oudtshoorn! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words - we hope to welcome you back to sunny South Africa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I enjoyed my one-night-stay at Turnberry very much. The overall impression when I arrived was good: it looked neat and all clean and furthermore I was welcomed very warmly. The luxury room in which I stayed was large, and very well equiped and so was the bathroom. Both were very clean too. The hot breakfast in the morning is taken on order while a wide range of continental breakfast is also offered. The hotel has a small cozy pool area, which I didn't use but it looked very clean. Furthermore, towels were provided. Another great aspect of this hotel is its location, which is right in the center of Oudtshoorn.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bas_891991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turnberryodn, Owner at Turnberry Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are grateful for any feedback to enable us to better our service and facilities. We wish to welcome you back in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stutterheim, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at Turnberry for one night only but I loved the friendly atmosphere and staff. The only improvement I would suggest is to build more shelter to park ones vehicle to avoid the bird droppings from the trees at night. Nice to see such a bird haven though!

Room Tip: Just ask the Lady at the desk - always helpfull!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turnberryodn, Owner at Turnberry Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback!. The birds you mentioned are Cape Sparrows and this is quite an unusual site - hundreds of them sleeping in the trees in our parking lot every night. The noise at sunset and sun rise is beautiful, however, they also mess a lot. Most of the parking spaces are covered with only 3 uncovered. We take note to have it covered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.0 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
326 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
177 reviews
0.4 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
0.5 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turnberry Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turnberry Boutique Hotel

Property: Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Address: 130 St John Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa (Formerly Turnberry Lodge & Tavern)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Turnberry Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star Turnberry Boutique Hotel is situated in the centre of the picturesque Klein Karoo town of Oudtshoorn, South Africa. A warm welcome awaits visitors to the heart of the Klein Karoo. Relax in the comfort of one of the 22 luxurious air-conditioned bedrooms (each with satellite television, a coffee station and a mini bar), all with en-suite bathrooms, and cosy double beds fitted with crisp white linen. Each room also has free wireless Internet connection. Relax on leather couches in our cool classy tavern at the very heart of the Lodge, and enjoy a casual pub lunch or a delicious dinner. Spend the afternoon cooling off in the sparkling swimming pool, and take cocktails on the patio overlooking the stark beauty of the Klein Karoo at sundown. Turnberry Boutique Hotel boasts a state-of-the-art air-conditioned conference facility that can seat up to eighty people - ideal for conferences, weddings, cocktail parties and other occasions. There is ample safe undercover parking and we are situated in the centre of Oudtshoorn. On your arrival, we will plan your visit to all the attractions Oudtshoorn has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Turnberry Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing