We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic private function venue !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
De Denne Country Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I was fortunate enough to be invited to a wedding function at De Denne Guesthouse. I consider De Denne to be one of the most scenic and intimate settings I've have ever had the pleasure of visiting ! The expansive and panoramic views over the Swartberg Mountains was breath taking !! The views from the restaurant over the farm is exquisite. All this complimented by great service and the best weddings food I have ever tasted. Fantastic !! Well Done, De Denne, you raised the bar !

Room Tip: Enquire from reservations. They are all unique.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyfullWesternCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisekeller, Owner at De Denne Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

What a lovely review, we thank you from the bottom of our hearts. Thank you also for appreciating the effort we and our staff put into De Denne to enable you to have great memories to take with on your journey of life. We do hope to have you visiting again. Kind regards Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for De Denne Country Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

What a surprising spot in the middle of nowhere, far from madness and stuff. Just a luxurious room and bathroom and a terrace on the porch, for ourselves and Michael washing our car: needed cleaning after the Swartbergpasstrip!
And dinner was served in a nice restaurant, with very friendly and adequate staff to serve us, especially Shirley, she was so warm and friendly and uncomplicated, and interested in us, not as numbers or people passing, but the real interest. That kind of attitude we like so much. The tables were so nicely decorated! Ostrich steak : we loved it! Thank you for good Wifi, sometimes not so good. We wish you all the best, for there were not so many tourists when we were there. Out of season still, I hope. We will recommend you, anyway.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lies20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisekeller, Owner at De Denne Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you so much for this beautiful review, and we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay here with us as well as your trip to the Swartgeberg mountain pass. It is truly amazing! I have already shared your review with our staff, thank you again as it meant a lot to them. Greetings from all of us at De Denne :) Kindest regards Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed here as we were doing a Meerkat adventure tour in Oudtshoorn. Very nice property with lovely views drinking sundowners as the sun goes down. Very friendly staff and a good value evening meal. You can do the Meerkat tour and make it back for Breakfast, They also own the nearby Highgate Ostrich Farm which provides good tours.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisekeller, Owner at De Denne Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review De Denne Country Guest House. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and experience here with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed at De Denne as part of our honeymoon in September 2013. The room itself is lovely - a large king sized bed in a stable with half door. Then a lovely kitchen and massive bathroom. The views are also outstanding.

My only issue was the service. We had asked for De Denne to cook our Ostrich on our braai so we could experience it, rather than cooking it in the big house. They agreed, and said they would bring across some local wine we had ordered. After 45 minutes of waiting for the wine, we had to go and fetch it because they had forgotten (I should add there were just us and another couple). They then gave us it without a corkscrew and there wasn't one in the cottage so we had to go out again.

Dinner was lovely but brought ready cooked. It was lovely but....overpriced for what it is. I would have preferred it to be done on the braai in our cottage so we had the warmth. Despite asking, it felt like they had forgotten that we had specifically asked for this.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeccaB521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisekeller, Owner at De Denne Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for writing your review on De Denne Country Guest House. I was quiet taken aback by your bad service review as normally our staff are very good in seeing to all your needs. I do apologise for the bad service and we shall strive to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We booked at de Denne based on the reviews from other travelers - so were really looking forward to our stay and had high expectations. Because we were traveling with our 9 month old baby we also specifically chose de Denne because of its self catering cottages. The staff were all very welcoming and friendly and the location is lovely - with a great farm feeling. Lots of grass to relax on which is great with kids. We were shown to our room and sort of surprised that a. The kitchen was tiny just one shelf really with no space to put anything and b. there was no table and chairs to eat on (not inside or outside) we settled ourselves and made the best of it. at about 5pm we were offered to be moved ( we didn't complain - they just came to us ) to another cottage with 2 bedrooms. This cottage was bigger and better for us but as far as self catering both units really fell short. The first unit only had one glass ( instead of 2) and the bathroom door didn't close properly. The kitchen is far too small - no space to chop an onion if need be. The second unit had a microwave whose cord didn't reach the plug point, no braai tongs or sharp knife. The furniture was very outdated and the towels were very thin and hard. The tv was an old style tv ( not a flat screen) which is not a problem but no attempt was made to hide the Cables hanging from the plug point - looked really untidy. This is not my idea of 4 star. So in short it's just really the cottages facilities that let this place down.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaWil82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeDenne_12, Owner at De Denne Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our guest house. Your feedback assists us in continuously providing a better service.
We have taken note of all your points raised and will strive to improve our offering to all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My Partner and I planned a 3 night stay in Oudtshoorn.When searching for accommodation there was so many good options that we ended up staying at 3 different B&B for our 3 nights. De Denne was our last stop and we wish we had stayed there all 3 nights.Our cottage was very big and luxurious with a spectacular view over the Olifants and Swartberg mountians.As we visited in the middle of winter,it was very cold,but our cottage had a beautiful fireplace(with pre packed wood) and plenty of warm blankets with kept us warm and cosy for the evening.

We had a wonderfull stay at the De Denne,but what made it exteptional,was our host Rudi.He welcomed us in a very warm,sincere and friendly matter.We instantly felt at home.We had a private dinner on our verandah and Rudi went out of his way to prepare a BBQ pack for us which included a delicious Ostrich Fillet steak and mouth watering salads(a must when you stay there).In the morning we were lourned in with the smell of fresh coffee in the Main Homestead and had a lovely warm breakfast.Rudi was very informative and gave us a bit of history about the farm and oudsthoorn with was very interresting.Rudi is a true asset to the geusthouse.Thank you Rudi!hope you enjoyed the wine.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hilanilouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We originally planned a 3-night stay and after our first night extended to a week! From the time we arrived at this perfect location with beautiful grounds and exceptional view, we experienced top-notch service. Personalized dinners set up on our private veranda were delicious (we ended up eating at the guest house 5 of the seven nights). The attention to detail in terms of service was five-star - each morning we awoke to find that the previous day's dust had been washed off our car!! One staff member in particular, Rudi, was knowledgable about the area, took the time to listen to what we liked, and then made PERFECT suggestions (and provided maps) that made exploring the area fun and easy. He even spent a bit of time on our first night showing us the Southern Cross and giving us a mini astronomy lesson. Finally, were were able to meet the owners on several occasions throughout our stay and found them to be caring, friendly, and welcoming. PS Rudy Rocks!!

Room Tip: Room 9 should have been called the Honeymoon Suite!!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa_and_Larry_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
7.8 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
492 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#6 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
340 reviews
2.2 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
900 reviews
1.6 mi away
Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse
7.0 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#4 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Denne Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Denne Country Guest House

Address: De Denne Guest House | Volmoed, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £74 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Denne Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Denne Country Guest House gives you tranquillity, spectacular views and soul touching moments. Sunsets you will never find elsewhere and hospitality to make you feel at home. Our accommodation comprises of 8 beautiful cottages and 5 ensuite bedrooms with views of the surrounding farmlands and majestic mountains.We also serve light meals in addition to our most popular BBQ Dinners.Perfect for romantic getaways or family fun time.Modern amenities with an old world charm – let the Little Karoo surround you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your De Denne Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing