We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oue Werf Guesthouse
Ranked #22 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
“wonderful”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Oue Werf is one of the jewels we discovered during our stay in South Africa! Our hosts gave us such a warm welcome, the rooms are very stylish and cosy, the garden is wellkept and spacious; We stayed for dinner every evening and it was excellent! Breakfast was lovingly prepared and very good! It was our second time at Oue Werf and we will come back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Angelique H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    30
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
51
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, Tx
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Oue Werf. My wife and I regret we only spent one night there for our honeymoon. Charming dutch style architecture with lovely antique furniture. Huge well appointed bathrooms in our guesthouse. Delicious breakfast with a very relaxing atmosphere. I would recommend Oue Werf to anyone looking for a romantic, and relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cody C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Ons het 'n wonderlike gasvrye ontvangs gehad van Annelie en haar man. Die omgewing is pragtig en rustig. Die uitsig vanaf ons kamers was 'n dam met wilgebome wat mens onmiddelik laat ontspan. Die akkomodasie was ruim baie netjies en uiters gemaklik. Ons beveel die gastehuis ten sterkste aan. Dit is heel gerieflik geleë, naby die Cango Grotte, Cango Wildlife en Cango Ostrich Farm en baie naby aan die dorp - hoogs aan te beveel

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

On arrival we felt like we had driven to paradise! Wonderful location, beautiful and secluded. Fantastic meal and service at night time. Gorgeous accommodation with great attention to detail (lavender left on your pillow!). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarebear84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrox, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Wow! What a beautiful place this is. Oue Werf is set in the countryside 12 km outside of Oudtshoorn with a dramatic mountain backdrop. The hosts are very friendly and the food was beautifully presented and tasty. We stayed in the garden house overlooking King George and Lily -the 2 resident ostriches. There's a lovely wine estate next door. Nice place to relax to break up a hectic touring schedule.

Room Tip: Garden house is nice and private as it is a little detached house with its own terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy-Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanville, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Shower was very average! All other very good!!

The welcome from the owner each year is very warm and very special. The evening meal is also a highlight especially the Ostrich Steaks and Karusa Wine!

We can only pay a short visit each year as the stop is en-route to cycle "The Hell and Back" race. Each year we plan to arrive a day earlier to experience all of the wonders of Oudtshoorn but time has not granted us the priviledge yet.


  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fish Hoek
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Lorna and I had a Great stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal on Friday night; the ostrich steaks were excellent. Our room was great, the outlook over the dam is great. We wished we could spend another night after the heavy ride we went on. Next time!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
7.0 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
477 reviews
8.0 mi away
Le Roux's Guest House
Le Roux's Guest House
#16 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
126 reviews
8.3 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
7.9 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
556 reviews
7.6 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oue Werf Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oue Werf Guesthouse

Property: Oue Werf Guesthouse
Address: Schoemanshoek Valley Road | 15 km north of Oudtshoorn, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Oue Werf Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oue Werf Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing