We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Country beauty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 78 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We had a very pleasant stay here. We arrived late, and was greeted friendly by the staff in the Restaurant that showed us to our room, almost next to the Restaurant. Spacious, clean rooms. After we had unpack we went to the Restaurant for a late dinner. Very surprised as we could choose from many venison meals. I had Ostrich and my girlfriend had Kudu. Very good choices as the fillets were tender! and not pricy. Buffet Breakfast was also very good the next morning. Good location

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micheal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

We visited the restaurant as we were staying nearby, recommended by our guest house we unfortunately visited it on a night when a coach party were staying and eating. The menu we were given was a reduced menu with only 3 choices for each course. We said we were not in the coach party and asked if the a la carte menu was available, but we were told no by the waiter. When we paid our bill we were told we could have had food from the a la carte!! Anyway I don't suppose it would have been any better. The springbok pancake starter was very dry and needed a sauce - it didn't taste homemade, but out of the freezer. The ostrich steak was fine, but nothing special - we asked for it medium/rare but it seemed that we could only have it medium - very strange!! The 3 desserts on offer were uninviting so we gave these a miss. Wine was quite expensive compared to everywhere else. Very basic tables and chairs made it seem like a cheap place - not worth a visit when there are so many places to eat.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank bumblebeeCumbria_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We had a lovely stay at this Lodge. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Very nice location with a Restaurant which offers a wide variety of excellent meals to choose from. Our visit to the Restaurant was very interesting as this is where the name originated from. The "Old Mill" is still part of the building. We love gardens and enjoyed the well maintaned gardens with roses. Will stay here again in future.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travell0ver54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Clean sheets and comfy beds,but a lack of atmosphere or character.Though being woken several times in the night by people knocking on the door asking if our room was the bridal suite did inject some humour into our stay.A very generous buffet breakfast was provided, and the staff were certainly enjoying it !
The whole place had the feel of a holiday camp,but what really spoit the hotel was the awful restaurant with awful food and the even more awful music.Though polite the waiting staff seemed very apathetic and totally disinterested,and the menu was poor to say the least and there seemed to be a red wine shortage!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKerNowSAer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Stayed with my partner and 2 friends from overseas, fortunately only for 1 night! We were given a "family room" and found it depressing as one of the bedrooms didnt even have a window, only a skylight. The advert suggests aircon, but NOT in both rooms. The bathroom started allergies in 2 of us as the mould was clearly evident. We ate in the adjacent restaurant which was a BIG mistake. The game pie was flat and dry, so we asked for gravy and were duly charged R16...they also failed to tell us we were supposed to get 10% discount....loads of others in the area to choose from.....and I doubt any could be so poor!

Room Tip: Try another B&B....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug_Cartlidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

We spent 3 nights at the 'Old Mill' hotel and used it as a base for exploring the Cango Caves and the Swartberg mountains. The family that run it were extremely friendly and helpful and ensured that our stay was very comfortable. Rooms were clean and very functional, with the added bonus of easy to control air-conditioning. The hotel is also a working ostrich farm and has 'tame' game, including kudu, springbok, bontebok and zebra, making it an interesting place to spend a few relaxing hours. The large pool was crystal clear and had very good facilities (changing rooms/showers etc). The restaurant, produced some excellent meals and had a good variety of venison on the menu. The restaurant had a good wine cellar, although they also had a reasonable corkage charge for diners wishing to bring their own wine. I have no reserves in recommending this hotel for anybody wanting good accommodation in the Cango/Swartberg/Oudtshoorn area.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudgeGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We arrived expecting to be able to have a close up or interaction with the game that are located on the farm. This does not happen. The animals were skittish and stayed about 40m away. On the web site there are pictures with people patting them, this does not happen. Having children expecting to pat the animals and could not proved disappointing.

The food served at the restaurant was not that palatable. Reasonable size meal, but filled with things that no one on our table ate.

The rooms were of a good size.

The staff were generally accommodating. The older lady who serves breakfast was not accommodating though and even proved difficult which ruined the entire atmosphere. She provided incorrect local advice and guiding on 3 occasions but with a know it all attitude, on everything.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
8.4 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
504 reviews
4.7 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
913 reviews
9.8 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#3 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
541 reviews
9.2 mi away
Yotclub B&B
Yotclub B&B
#10 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
464 reviews
13.8 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#4 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant

Address: Schoemanshoek Valley | Oudtshoorn, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £46 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a working ostrich farm in season & 4 Star Guest Lodge. Situated at the foothills of the Swartberg Mountains,14 km from Oudtshoorn , exactly halfway between Oudtshoorn and the World Famous Cango Caves.We offer hiking, fishing, two swimming pools , horse riding and we are nearby the Cango Ostrich Farm.Enjoy lunch or dinner in our a la carte Restaurant , with a view of the Grobelaarsriver that crosses our farm. Restaurant open everyday with specials! It is a historic building with the Old Watermill still inside the Restaurant. Approx. 150 Years old. The farm obtained its name from the old mill. All the wheat from the valley was milled on the farm. At that stage there were hundreds of mills all over the country. In Oct. 2003 Christo and his wife Doret Spies, changed the old building into an a la carte Restaurant, with 12 x 4 star rooms next to the Restaurant. We are situated in an area called Schoemanshoek / Schoemanspoort, Cango Valley / Cango Road. We specialize in Venison and Ostrich dishes. We also have lamb, beef fillet, chicken, pasta and many more to choose from. It is a peaceful farm atmosphere and you will have an unforgettable stay with us.Also the perfect location for WEDDINGS , FUNCTIONS & CONFERENCES. Hosts up to 300 people with a spacious dance floor, undercover BBQ facilities, swimming pool area & garden gazebo for your perfect ceremony. Gazebo seats up to 200 people. The venue has a spectacular view of our farm and the foothills of the Swartberg Mountains. We supply internet service, screens, telephone & fax service, sound systems, a slide and photocopying service and full secretarial and administrative support for your conference. We have 40, 4-star rooms to accommodate the guests and also two Restaurants: an la carte Restaurant or Buffet Restaurant to choose from to have breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing