We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient stop-over en route to Eastern Cape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 79 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Arrived here after a long drive from Cape Town and a visit to Cango Caves en route!
The grounds are lovely as you drive in, and we were pleasantly surprised with the family room, in that is was actually a 2 bedroom cottage/apartment.
Everything was very clean, but parts were looking a little tired and in need of some TLC.
We ate in the restaurant in the evening which was an experience, not unpleasant, but also nothing to wow about.
Breakfast was included which was a bit of a bonus, but as we arrived after the "crowds" there was little left on offer.
The owner came and sat with us for a chat at breakfast which is a really nice touch, and quite useful information for our journey ahead.
I would definitely stay here again, so thank you for what was a brief but enjoyable visit for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeniseRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed in a family room at the Old Mill for 1 night on our way to see the Cango Caves. The hotel is in a beautiful valley so we really enjoyed the views all around. The staff were friendly. The food was fine, though nothing remarkable. The children were well catered for with use of a playground with trampoline etc. and a (cold) swimming pool to splash in. The family suite was just what we needed, though the kids' room didn't really have a window (just a very high window up in the roof). This might have bothered us had we stayed there longer than one night, but it wasn't an issue for such a short stay. It was fun to see the ostriches running back to their enclosure at the end of the day, and the kids also discovered a couple of rabbits in a hutch at the back of the building we were staying in.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We are a family and enjoyed our stay very much! lots of playground, fishing and hiking for the children. Friendly staff throughout our stay. We had very good meals at the Restaurant. very calm and relaxing at the swimmingpool area with wonderful views. Will recommend it as a romantic getaway as well!!

Room Tip: family units next to the restaurant good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henry t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed in the old mill only one night on our way to addo from cape town but could have easily stayed longer! The farm has a very colonial feel, green watered grass, cape dutch farmhouses, gardeners and cleaners working, bunch of local kids playing.. What seem like old labourers cottages have been renovated and converted into incredibly well equipped rooms. We had two joined by a closed in stoep with a sleeper couch and well stocked kitchen, all new, big fridge, even had a snackwich machine!! Outside there was an ample veranda with a braai, all looking out on a river running by. One could easily stay a week or two and self-cater.

We ate in their restaurant, sitting once again on a stoep near the river, beautiful. The menu is wonderful if you like game and meat. Kudu, ostrich, springbok all there, served up beautifully and not extraordinarily priced. There is champagne on the wine list, which in effect is sparkling white and dont be fooled by the waiter who offers it as dry. Wonderful desserts too so a MUST if you stay either there or even near Oudtshoorn.

We had a swim in a lovely pool with never another guest in site even in high season. It seems The Old Mill is catered for large weddings, having a "broekies-lace" gazebo and huge entertaining area all looking out onto green gardens and beautiful mountains.

Breakfast was wonderful and ample in true traditional style. Dont expect to see baby ostrich on the grass in the gardens though, they are kept just outside the main gate in a dusty grassless area and albeit curious are skittish and afraid of visitors. I'm sure we were there off season for the baby ones but were expecting more contact with them somehow.

All in all a beautiful, romantic and welcoming place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisonranwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Thanks Doret and your team for an amazing stay,your BB is so convenient very close to the Cango Caves the food from your restaurant was nice and fresh and the views were superb as well as the accommodation was neat as a pin.i would definately use you guys again keep up the excellent work!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faizal i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We arrived after a very long drive and was greeted friendly when we arrived. We were very tired and was relieved to go the restaurant and not all the way back into town again for dinner. food was well presented and tasty. The room we got was very neat.Happy that we choose a b&b that was surrounded with many activities and not so far from the caves. big variety to choose from the next morning with breakfast. good little spot in the mountains.

Room Tip: Close to the swimming Pool is nice in the summer. In winter close to the Restuarant is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We had a lovely stay here. We were surprised to see how big the establishment is. We loved the the fact that we could take pictures with the ostriches! We had a lovely meal at the restaurant and the staff was also very helpful with wine tasting directions and routes, with one almost next to them. We had a room that had everything we needed. Will definitely visit this holiday farm again. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alwyn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
8.4 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
522 reviews
11.9 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
210 reviews
10.2 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
#12 of 79 in Oudtshoorn
212 reviews
9.3 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#4 of 79 in Oudtshoorn
598 reviews
9.1 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant

Address: Schoemanshoek Valley | Oudtshoorn, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £44 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Riverfront Tents with Mountain view & Waterfront Luxury Cabins. We are a working ostrich farm in season & 4 Star Guest Lodge. Situated at the foothills of the Swartberg Mountains,14 km from Oudtshoorn , exactly halfway between Oudtshoorn and the World Famous Cango, our A la carte Restaurant open daily with specials. It is a historic building with the Old Watermill still inside the Restaurant. Approx. 150 Years old. The farm obtained its name from the old mill. All the wheat from the valley was We specialize in Venison and Ostrich dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing