We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Pension Guest House
Ranked #3 of 74 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rosenheim, Germany
2 reviews
“beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

...I am not often writing reviews but to this one I really have! It is a wonderful place to stay. The property is a real gem...very well-tended and has a beautiful garden with swimming pool. The rooms are lovely and cozy. The hospitality was overwhelming and our stay there left nothing to be desired!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    45
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
172
264
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

After a long drive from Cape Town we were warmly welcomed by Errol and his charming wife. A glass of chilled wine and some help in booking for dinner and takeaways for our party of adults and babies was gladly received.
The property has been beautifully renovated with exquisite finishing touches that any fan of interior design would fawn over. We stayed in the cottage which had a wonderfully decadent bathroom with deep bathtub and walk in shower. This place is old world glamour crosses shabby chic and I would thoroughly recommend it as a stopover on your road trip.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladylahlah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

You could waste a lot of time checking out the 300 plus B&B/guesthouse in Oudtshorn. Save all that time by going directly to La Pension & you are unlikely to regret it. We turned up here by chance after driving in bewilderment past option after option & were more than pleased. It may be a little on the pricey side (perhaps they all are) but still represents very good value for money.

The welcome is warm, Errol is a most affable man & quite cosmopolitan. The rating is 4 star but could easily be 5. Quality & comfort are a given & clearly Venita, who has obviously had major input in the design, is a woman of discernment & taste. The rooms are decorated & equipped to a high standard & little touches - posies on pillows just add to the ambience.

There is a pool which is of a usable size, unlike the usual bathtub you so often encounter.

I have often used TA in the past but never previously posted. As you can see I was impressed enough to do so now.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tether_end
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Fantastic setting, lovely old style buildings with modern rooms and bathrooms. Great attention to detail by Vee the owner. The only reason i would not stay there in the future is of she dont have a room for me.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nupower01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Wow.. this is a really special place to stay in a wonderful little town.

We only booked for one night on our honeymoon but we were in for a surprise.... Le Pension is a wonderfully welcoming place with Venita being the perfect host. She provided some great resturaunt recommendations and we eventually setlled on Jemimas and had a great meal... we could even walk to the resturaunt!!

Our room was large, welcoming and would easily not be out of place in any luxuorious hotel.. the little extras in our room on arrival including local chilled sparkling wine were a great touch and very welcome after a long drive from Cape Town. One item of note was the breakfast which was perfectly presented and delicious

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

What a wonderful warm welcome we received from Venita and Errol! The cottage was ideal for our little family of 4 - private, comfortable, and beautifully furnished with extra thought added - fresh flowers and the ostrich feathers and the fresh lavender on the pillows. The garden was in full bloom with jasmine and orange blossoms and wisteria - my daughter made grapefruit juice from some picked in the garden! Most definitely a place to return to and highly recommended to any traveler.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soniad70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eys
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We had a very warm stay in La Pension where Hospitality is written with a capital letter
The ostrich feather on our cushion, the attention of Venita and the friendly staff made our stay extarordinary. Don't miss this place
Thanks a lot
Cobi and Ben de Ponti The Netherlands

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nederland-Eys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.1 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.5 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.6 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pictures Guest House
Pictures Guest House
#1 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pension Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pension Guest House

Property: La Pension Guest House
Address: 169 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pension Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an acre in a quiet leafy suburb in Oudtshoorn, La Pension provides the perfect setting. Relax in the magnificent park-like gardens or enjoy sundowners at the large sparkling pool with sauna and bar in close proximity. Tastefully decorated spacious en-suite rooms offer both self-catering and B&B accommodation. A choice of indoor and outdoor BBQ facilities.La Pension is centrally situated, within easy walking distance of excellent restaurants and a short drive from Ostrich show farms and the renowned Cango Caves.For bird lovers a great variety of different species - often a cacophony of sound as they play and feed at well located feeders.Described by many guests as a little piece of paradise - rated by the Tourism Grading Council as " Superior Accommodation" and by the AA as Superior in the Guest House/B&B self-catering categoryCome and experience a memorable "home away from home" experience with Errol and Venita ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Pension Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing