We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We took our own advice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Pension Guest House
Ranked #2 of 78 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Last year we stayed at La Pension & headed the review ' pick this one' which is exactly what we did on our return visit this year.

I'm very glad we took our own advice as everything was to the same high standard as we experienced first time around.

It is not possible to fault the quality of the accommodation in any respect.

Last year Venita managed to locate some meerkat carvings for Ann & this year organised a trip to see the real things. All we need now is for her to help us buy our own bed linen to match hers.

I don't know if we will ever be back in Oudtshoorn, but if we are we will certainly take our own advice & pick this one again.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
Thank tether_end
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed at the garden cottage. This was our first stay at a hotel/guest house in South Africa. And I must admit that we were floored by the hospitality and generosity of our Hosts. Loved the rooms, garden, pool and the breakfast.

Though we reached quite late (8:30 PM), we received a warm welcome. The lady in charge (I think Tilly) took us directly to our rooms (Nice change from the usual practice in most hotels of taking details, signing forms, payments etc). The colonial style retro look of the rooms went well with the furnishing. The living area had a large TV, fully equipped kitchenette with microwave, refrigerator and a cook-top. Rooms were spotless clean. The bathroom was huge (larger than the bedroom)

We were offered complimentary drinks after check in (What I especially liked was sensitivity displayed in checking if our culture permitted consumption of alcohol).

At the pool side dining area we were welcomed by Venita.

The highlight of our stay was the breakfast net day. It was customized to our individual requirements. I had the best omelette of my trip. Overall presentation and quality would easily meet a 5 star standard.

The only fault we could point out was with the latch/lock was not working in the bathroom
The place is centrally located, convenient for sight-seeing tour to nearby Congo caves / ostrich farms.

Venita is a great host. She went out of the way to ensure that we had a comfortable stay. La Pension turned out to be a highlight of our SA trip. Our only regret is that we stayed for just a day.

Room Tip: Do try out the breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank himniv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I had to attend a business meeting in Oudtshoorn and because I didn’t want to drive back to George at night I booked a room at La Pension for one night, but extended my stay to 3 nights and was very sorry that I had to leave. The hosts are so helpful and friendly, the service is “superb” , the room was light and extremely clean, the pool inviting and the position “a piece of heaven”. Although close to town it’s like a little paradise and you can see birds all around and hear them singing.
The quote “come as a guest and leave as a friend” is more than true. Venita’s breakfast ideas are stunning and delicious, making the start of each day very special. I travelled a lot in this world but something like La Pension I haven’t seen before. I will come back for sure and will recommend this guest house to all my friends (from SA and overseas as well).

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We love La Pension in Oudsthoorn! After our last visit we made special plans to extend our trip to include Oudtshoorn and look forward to spending time with V and Errol once again. OUr room was different to our last one but all the special details we love about La Pension were abundant. This time we enjoyed an evening in with a braai meeting all the other very happy guests staying over! We arent the only ones returning time and time again it seems!
Looking forward to our next trip already. Thanks V you do the very best job at La Pension.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaynie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

A wonderful guest house. Set amidst stunning gardens and with a gorgeous pool, we couldn't have asked for anything more during our stay. We were so stunned by the garden that we decided to spend our evening doing a BBQ and Errol and Venita very gladly allowed us to use their outdoor braai. They then went out of their way to make our lives easier and to accommodate our rather tiresome request - they even lit the fire for us in our absence to make sure we weren't too late eating! I cannot emphasize their hospitality enough. The guest house itself is gorgeous, with the kinds of rooms you don't normally get in a 4 star hotel - especially in London! Real attention to detail. The breakfast was lovely with fresh fruit and the tastiest omelet I have ever tried. Very much look forward to returning here!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VasoParis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We booked for two nights and stayed for three, reluctantly leaving after one of our best trips away! Our hosts V and Errol we now count as good friends and have already started to make plans to return soon! True comfort with great attention to detail - underfloor heating was an added bonus as was the cosy winter bedlinen! Breakfast was delicious and I enjoyed hand picking a handful of delicious oranges on our way back to the cottage! Oudtshoorn has so much to offer, we couldnt cram in all we wanted to see, with thanks to V and Errols huge knowledge of the area we have so much to look forward to on our definate return visit! LOVED IT!

Room Tip: all the rooms are light and airy, with plenty of space! We were luck enough to get the cottage whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaynie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

delightful hosts, beautiful rooms, big comfy king beds and the most devine breakfast! Wish we had stayed longer! A class above, with hospitality too match.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeathFleurBull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.1 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
501 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
0.4 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#4 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
568 reviews
0.5 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#3 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pension Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pension Guest House

Address: 169 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £64 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pension Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an acre in a quiet leafy suburb in Oudtshoorn, La Pension provides the perfect setting. Relax in the magnificent park-like gardens or enjoy sundowners at the large sparkling pool with sauna and bar in close proximity. Tastefully decorated spacious en-suite rooms offer both self-catering and B&B accommodation. A choice of indoor and outdoor BBQ facilities.La Pension is centrally situated, within easy walking distance of excellent restaurants and a short drive from Ostrich show farms and the renowned Cango Caves.For bird lovers a great variety of different species - often a cacophony of sound as they play and feed at well located feeders.Described by many guests as a little piece of paradise - rated by the Tourism Grading Council as " Superior Accommodation" and by the AA as Superior in the Guest House/B&B self-catering categoryCome and experience a memorable "home away from home" experience with Errol and Venita ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Pension Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing