We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Pension Guest House
Ranked #2 of 77 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We slept with our family in the cottage and really enjoyed our stay.We can only regret we only booked 1 night on our trip in South Africa. The swimming pool was nice and warm, the breakfast very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Johan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

We recently visited Oudtshoorn and stayed at La Pension Guest House. It was amazing!!!!! Errol and Venita are the perfect hosts and the setting is gorgeous. We stayed in the family cottage which was lovely.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DyzellSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

TOP Guesthouse!! Anytime again. Thanks for that exceptional Service, the relaxing hours at the pool and the wunderfull environment in the room. The Guesthouse Owner do a fantastic Job. WELL DONE. Only to recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stefanie_Switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The standard of accommodation was very high, clean, up to date, peaceful, spacious. What made it stand out from other places, were Vaneta & Errol, I missed them when we left and we only stayed 2 nights - that's just how friendly they were. 100% recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

December 2013 (2 nights); The La Pension Guest House is a superb place to stay. Venita is a wonderful host and Errol is a very interesting and sporting man. The breakfast is superb and it is served in a wonderful setting beside the pool. The general location of the guest house is very central to Oudshoorn in addition to the Meerkets experience (Devey), Cango Caves and a whole variety of other natural treasures. It was our second honeymoon and Venita kindly put a bottle of bubbles in our room on our arrival. Nothing is too much at La Pension, Venita booked our caves visit, confirmed our meerkat booking and even ordered in a pizza for us at the end of a long sightseeing day. One of the many super features is the ‘honesty bar’. It works a charm and it is superbly stocked – a sundowner by the pool is daily offering! The rooms are very clean and to a very high standard throughout. There is a very comfortable common area in the guest area to relax in front of a big TV. The property is very secure and beautifully finished throughout with secure parking. The swimming pool is a very good size and the pool area is beautifully set in manicured garden creating a very relaxing and comfortable area in both the shade and direct sun.
I would happily return for a longer stay and recommend it accordingly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We arrived in Oudtshoorn late afternoon to be greeted by the owner, Vonita, who was absolutely lovely and welcoming. Our two nights were incredibly enjoyable with a glass of wine by the pool and picturesque gardens. Our children loved the place and didn't want to leave. Vonita served us at breakfast and was the most accomodating hostess. Would recommend to family and friends as a must stay if in Oudtshoorn.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Caracal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Thanks for a perfect stay. We enjoyed the pool, nice garden, breakfast under the trees and recommendations of the landlord. Thanks for the free welcome drink. There was only a frigde missing in the room, but we were allowed to deposit our bottles in the bars fridge.



  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Heike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.1 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
515 reviews
15.5 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
0.4 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#4 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pension Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pension Guest House

Address: 169 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £62 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pension Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an acre in a quiet leafy suburb in Oudtshoorn, La Pension provides the perfect setting. Relax in the magnificent park-like gardens or enjoy sundowners at the large sparkling pool with sauna and bar in close proximity. Tastefully decorated spacious en-suite rooms offer both self-catering and B&B accommodation. A choice of indoor and outdoor BBQ facilities.La Pension is centrally situated, within easy walking distance of excellent restaurants and a short drive from Ostrich show farms and the renowned Cango Caves.For bird lovers a great variety of different species - often a cacophony of sound as they play and feed at well located feeders.Described by many guests as a little piece of paradise - rated by the Tourism Grading Council as " Superior Accommodation" and by the AA as Superior in the Guest House/B&B self-catering categoryCome and experience a memorable "home away from home" experience with Errol and Venita ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Pension Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing