We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Pension Guest House
Ranked #3 of 74 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Would recommend this to anyone, lovely accommodation, superb pool and gardens, and a really warm, welcoming environment. Venita, Errol, Nikita (and friends) made us feel really at home. Thanks all, and congrats to Errol on completing the bike ride, and to Nikita on passing your driving test.

Next time in Oudtshoorn, we shall definitely pop in

Regards

Mick & Barb

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    45
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
172
264
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

In one word: Wow!

I'm one of those guys that always sees a few things that can use improvement. But for La Pension, there just aren't any. Perfection all the way.

The room was a good size and had a nice seating area. I had a great night's sleep in the very comfortable king size bed. The airco kept the room at a pleasant temperature. The bathroom is very modern and top notch. Breakfast in the pool area was delicious and the entire facility is picture perfect.

Had a nice swim in their very decently sized pool in the evening. What better way to relax and unwind! Their honesty bar is stocked with nice wines for very decent prices. No need to ever leave the guesthouse ;-).

The guesthouse in in a (safe) residential area, just a short walk to "downtown" Oudtshoorn. We had no issues out on the street at night. The owner (Errol) even offered to pick us up after dinner, but we didn't feel any need for that.

Errol, the owner, is a great guy! Very nice to chat with. His interests, background and previous employment at National Geographic are reflected in the in-room literature and decorations.

Will definitely be back here!

Room Tip: I guess all are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Very Nice guesthouse, we had a large room with shower and Bath. This guesthouse has a beautifull garden with a nice swimmingpool. Breakfast was delicious and the staf verry friendly. We stayed here 3 nights and would go there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

La Pension is by far the most beautiful guest house I have ever had the pleasure of staying at. Hosts Errol and Venita are wonderful and have created such a welcoming and beautiful home. First, the grounds. Oh the grounds! They are expertly landscaped with plenty of fruit trees, beautiful flowers, and plenty of room to walk around. The pool is large and sparkling clean. Our room was spacious, with an old world feel and plush bedding. The bathroom was huge with separate shower and bath facilities and an uber modern feel. The whole place has plenty of lounge areas for guests that are inviting and beautiful. Breakfast was delicious. All the expected options with perks such as fresh juice and fruit salad served in a papaya/pawpaw. A stay here is passing through Oudtshoorn is a must!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbuggie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Not only were the accommodation, garden and facilities of this B&B wonderful, but these were paired with top-notch guest-house owners whose friendliness, helpfulness and attention to detail helped to made our stay in Oudtshoorn a great experience. Oh, and did I mention the great breakfast?

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Gregcellence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Just recently stayed, and it is difficult to add more praise than has already been heaped on this superb Guest House. From the moment you arrive you are welcomed like family. Venita, Errol and family make you so welcome, it's a disappointment when you have to leave!! The rooms are very well appointed, roomy and furnished magnificently. The lounge was a a large welcoming room, but I fear very rarely used, as the bar by the pool keeps most people in the open, chatting to the hosts and putting more on the honesty tab. Wonderful.
Breakfast, was as you would expect, plenty, well served, with you leaving feeling full, and served in the wonderful surroundings of the pool.
We will be back, and will recommend to all who travel to Oudsthoorn !!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KnightyatNo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

With the temp showing +35C, what a treat to enjoy the cool relaxed comfort of La Pension, very comfortable and a great night's sleep!
Would recommend as a great stop over and loved the drive up the R62 from CT!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.1 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.5 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.6 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.5 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pictures Guest House
Pictures Guest House
#1 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pension Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pension Guest House

Property: La Pension Guest House
Address: 169 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pension Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an acre in a quiet leafy suburb in Oudtshoorn, La Pension provides the perfect setting. Relax in the magnificent park-like gardens or enjoy sundowners at the large sparkling pool with sauna and bar in close proximity. Tastefully decorated spacious en-suite rooms offer both self-catering and B&B accommodation. A choice of indoor and outdoor BBQ facilities.La Pension is centrally situated, within easy walking distance of excellent restaurants and a short drive from Ostrich show farms and the renowned Cango Caves.For bird lovers a great variety of different species - often a cacophony of sound as they play and feed at well located feeders.Described by many guests as a little piece of paradise - rated by the Tourism Grading Council as " Superior Accommodation" and by the AA as Superior in the Guest House/B&B self-catering categoryCome and experience a memorable "home away from home" experience with Errol and Venita ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Pension Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing