We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Pension Guest House
Ranked #2 of 77 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Our one night stay was excellent in all respects. We stayed in the cottage (2 bedrooms, living room and open kitchen. Very comfortable with all amenities. No noise
The hostess Venita was very friendly and helpful
Breakfast had everything you needed.
Not to be missed in the area is the Swartberg pass. Taking route 62 from Cape Town to PE instead of N2 was an excellent alternative
We would stay again at La Pension if we come again to Odtshoorn

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank roger3875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

My husband and I had a very pleasant stay at La Pension. Extremely clean, comfortable, elegant, with a real home away from home feeling. Perfect location to all the Oudtshoorn attractions. Owners will give you all the info on where to eat and what to do as they've taken the time to do it themselves. Breakfast and coffee by the pool and garden was a delight. We booked an extra night just because we didn't want to leave! I can't say enough about how wonderful our stay was here and hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully decorated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hle1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We have had a lovely stay in La Pension! Very friendly welcome in this tranquil
guest house. Breakfast near the swimming pool......
Oudtshoorn is a good starting point for Swartberg and a visit to wildparks.


  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This was one of the best guest houses we have stayed in in many trips to South Africa. Everything about it was excellent and Venita and her staff went out of their way to make our visit a most enjoyable one. We hope to return one day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cameron_abernethy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

When we arrived at this b and b I immediately fell in love with it and wished we were staying for more than one night! it was a delight. The bedroom was large and airy with an enormous bathroom and very well equipped. The garden blooming with African flowers and a hah de dah bird and there is a very good sized swimming pool . We didn't get much time to enjoy as it was so hot we ended up inside while a tropical storm raged overhead. Rather terrifying but mesmerizing to watch. What was so lovely about La Pension is that we had a siting room which was elegantly furnished and comfortable where we could read and watch the rain pouring down in torrents. (There is also a covered verandah ) You feel very comfortable and uncrowded in these surroundings. Our hostess was extremely friendly and helpful as well.

Room Tip: If the room we had is anything to go by I would say they must all be lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haworths63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The garden cottage is clean, comfortable, spacious and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was delicious and the service excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to return for a second visit. Thank you

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank janix2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed her for one night and wished we had been able to stay longer. The room was perfect - comfortable and spacious. The garden was lovely with a good-sized swimming pool. The location was good with the town centre restaurants less that a 15 minute stroll away. The breakfast was a delight. Above all the hosts were extremely friendly, interesting and informative

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GeorgeN5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.1 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
515 reviews
15.5 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
0.4 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#4 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pension Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pension Guest House

Address: 169 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £63 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pension Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an acre in a quiet leafy suburb in Oudtshoorn, La Pension provides the perfect setting. Relax in the magnificent park-like gardens or enjoy sundowners at the large sparkling pool with sauna and bar in close proximity. Tastefully decorated spacious en-suite rooms offer both self-catering and B&B accommodation. A choice of indoor and outdoor BBQ facilities.La Pension is centrally situated, within easy walking distance of excellent restaurants and a short drive from Ostrich show farms and the renowned Cango Caves.For bird lovers a great variety of different species - often a cacophony of sound as they play and feed at well located feeders.Described by many guests as a little piece of paradise - rated by the Tourism Grading Council as " Superior Accommodation" and by the AA as Superior in the Guest House/B&B self-catering categoryCome and experience a memorable "home away from home" experience with Errol and Venita ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Pension Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing