We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Pension Guest House
Ranked #2 of 78 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

could not fault this fantastic b&b venita was the perfect host the rooms were lovely she made our stay special nice pool lovely gardens 5 star treatment all round clean friendly good value lots of extra touches

Room Tip: all rooms of good standard hard to choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorothypatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

We were staying in Oudtshoorn for a swimming competition, so we weren't doing the usual type of visit. What is important for a trip like this isn't always the same as a real holiday, but we felt lucky to have found a Guest House so close to the swimming pool and with good ratings on Trip Advisor. Location, cleanliness and a tumble dryer for the wet towels were our priorities.

As soon as we arrived, we knew that we have stumbled across a gem. From the warm and very personal welcome from Errol and Venita, to the stroll through the beautiful gardens, to the first sight of our cottage, we were bowled over. La Pension is beautiful. Beautiful.

Our cottage was perfect. It was spotless, private, comfortable, tastefully decorated and felt like a real home from home. The beds were super comfortable and the air conditioning was such a bonus in the 40 degree heat. We never needed that tumble dryer! The well equipped kitchen provided everything that early morning swimmers need to make breakfast - what a bonus. Unfortunately, we did not experience cooked breakfasts in the Guest House as we were on dawn patrol every day for swimming.

The bathroom is modern and wonderful and South African in size. It was much appreciated, especially the drawers and space to store your toiletries. Like everything else, it was very tastefully decorated and very relaxing.

Overall, we just loved 'La Pension' and Errol and Venita have as much to do with this as the wonderful setting and facilities. They are wonderful hosts, and will go the extra mile to make your stay just perfect. There is no faking here - it is all from the heart. We loved the place so much that we have decided to make a return visit to 'La Pension', but this time for a real holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maija63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Received a very warm welcome from both Errol and Venita and was soon sharing a drink and having a few laughs with them and other guests. Accommodation is of an extremely high standard and it is clear that much thought and effort has been applied, especially to the finishing touches that make a stay all the more special. Complemented by beautiful well established and tranquil gardens. Hosts were very attentive and informative, nothing was too much trouble. Hardly surprising that 2 other groups are regular return visitors. To sum up....first class all round....thanks

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

La Pension is a lovely guesthouse with a big pool and a spacious and perfectly maintenanced garden. We have never seen any guesthouse in such perfect condition. The "love" could be seen in every detail. The breakfast under shady arcades at the pool and the very lovely owner... This guesthouse has spirit and atmosphere and we will come back, promised ! Remark: no TV in the room, but this irritated us for two minutes only...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Guido R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

place we stayed while in South Africa this trip. We stayed in a mix of accommodation from hotel to game park (9 in all) and this was the best. We stayed in the cottage, it was beautiful.
It has two bedrooms, lounge/diner with good kitchen and an very large bathroom. Lots of little extra touches.
Beautiful garden. Breakfast al fresco watching the birds. A well served and personal breakfast - even though staying in cottage.
Venita and Errol are wonderful hosts
We only stayed one night, wish it had been longer, both for the accommodation and the area. Will make sure it is next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gardengel-IoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

La Pension Guest house has everything you can wish for in a Guest house; warm and honest hostpitality, fantastic service, clean and neat rooms, a wonderful garden, a great swimming pool (a must in Oudshoorn) and a good breakfast. I will come back next time I am in Oudshoorn! Thank you!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ACMDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Venita and Errol are wonderful hosts and went out of their way to ensure that our one night stay was both enjoyable and comfortable. The rooms are excellent, the gardens beautiful and the whole place has a very homely and happy feel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank misslll7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.1 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
510 reviews
15.5 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
0.4 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#4 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pension Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pension Guest House

Address: 169 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £60 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pension Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an acre in a quiet leafy suburb in Oudtshoorn, La Pension provides the perfect setting. Relax in the magnificent park-like gardens or enjoy sundowners at the large sparkling pool with sauna and bar in close proximity. Tastefully decorated spacious en-suite rooms offer both self-catering and B&B accommodation. A choice of indoor and outdoor BBQ facilities.La Pension is centrally situated, within easy walking distance of excellent restaurants and a short drive from Ostrich show farms and the renowned Cango Caves.For bird lovers a great variety of different species - often a cacophony of sound as they play and feed at well located feeders.Described by many guests as a little piece of paradise - rated by the Tourism Grading Council as " Superior Accommodation" and by the AA as Superior in the Guest House/B&B self-catering categoryCome and experience a memorable "home away from home" experience with Errol and Venita ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Pension Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing