We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Stay at La Pension”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Pension Guest House
Ranked #3 of 74 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“My Stay at La Pension”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I was very impress with the welcome we received from Venita and Erol as first impressions are very important. The place was truly 5 star and not 4 star. Very secure and safe also. I will recommend anyone to stay at La Pension as it is worth every cent and everyone with the staff included are very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    45
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
172
264
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed at La Pension 3 nights in our 3 week trip to SA. Everything was excellent. The room was spacious and very comfortable, the breakfast was good and Venita's welcome was very warm and helpful. Oudtshoorn is a lovely town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RivkaNir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sainte Marie, Reunion Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We enjoyed the cottage and accomodation. We were 4 friends in a cottage and we felt very confortable.
Arold & venisia were very nice and we particulary liked their welcomeness.
We sincerly recommand this adress.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Judicael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

could not fault this fantastic b&b venita was the perfect host the rooms were lovely she made our stay special nice pool lovely gardens 5 star treatment all round clean friendly good value lots of extra touches

Room Tip: all rooms of good standard hard to choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorothypatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We were staying in Oudtshoorn for a swimming competition, so we weren't doing the usual type of visit. What is important for a trip like this isn't always the same as a real holiday, but we felt lucky to have found a Guest House so close to the swimming pool and with good ratings on Trip Advisor. Location, cleanliness and a tumble dryer for the wet towels were our priorities.

As soon as we arrived, we knew that we have stumbled across a gem. From the warm and very personal welcome from Errol and Venita, to the stroll through the beautiful gardens, to the first sight of our cottage, we were bowled over. La Pension is beautiful. Beautiful.

Our cottage was perfect. It was spotless, private, comfortable, tastefully decorated and felt like a real home from home. The beds were super comfortable and the air conditioning was such a bonus in the 40 degree heat. We never needed that tumble dryer! The well equipped kitchen provided everything that early morning swimmers need to make breakfast - what a bonus. Unfortunately, we did not experience cooked breakfasts in the Guest House as we were on dawn patrol every day for swimming.

The bathroom is modern and wonderful and South African in size. It was much appreciated, especially the drawers and space to store your toiletries. Like everything else, it was very tastefully decorated and very relaxing.

Overall, we just loved 'La Pension' and Errol and Venita have as much to do with this as the wonderful setting and facilities. They are wonderful hosts, and will go the extra mile to make your stay just perfect. There is no faking here - it is all from the heart. We loved the place so much that we have decided to make a return visit to 'La Pension', but this time for a real holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maija63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Received a very warm welcome from both Errol and Venita and was soon sharing a drink and having a few laughs with them and other guests. Accommodation is of an extremely high standard and it is clear that much thought and effort has been applied, especially to the finishing touches that make a stay all the more special. Complemented by beautiful well established and tranquil gardens. Hosts were very attentive and informative, nothing was too much trouble. Hardly surprising that 2 other groups are regular return visitors. To sum up....first class all round....thanks

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

La Pension is a lovely guesthouse with a big pool and a spacious and perfectly maintenanced garden. We have never seen any guesthouse in such perfect condition. The "love" could be seen in every detail. The breakfast under shady arcades at the pool and the very lovely owner... This guesthouse has spirit and atmosphere and we will come back, promised ! Remark: no TV in the room, but this irritated us for two minutes only...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Guido R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.1 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.5 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.6 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.5 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pictures Guest House
Pictures Guest House
#1 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pension Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pension Guest House

Property: La Pension Guest House
Address: 169 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pension Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an acre in a quiet leafy suburb in Oudtshoorn, La Pension provides the perfect setting. Relax in the magnificent park-like gardens or enjoy sundowners at the large sparkling pool with sauna and bar in close proximity. Tastefully decorated spacious en-suite rooms offer both self-catering and B&B accommodation. A choice of indoor and outdoor BBQ facilities.La Pension is centrally situated, within easy walking distance of excellent restaurants and a short drive from Ostrich show farms and the renowned Cango Caves.For bird lovers a great variety of different species - often a cacophony of sound as they play and feed at well located feeders.Described by many guests as a little piece of paradise - rated by the Tourism Grading Council as " Superior Accommodation" and by the AA as Superior in the Guest House/B&B self-catering categoryCome and experience a memorable "home away from home" experience with Errol and Venita ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Pension Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing