We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special...out of this world experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
Ranked #12 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Netanya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Special...out of this world experience”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Located on top of a hill with a view of 50 shades of green...quiet...nature! Lovely welcome from the owner and his dogs :-). Decided to have supper on our deck - was delicious. One night out of civilization was exactly what we needed to chill and feel a little bit of what the initial voortrekkers felt.

Room Tip: The accomodation is simple - you come for the view and atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevzab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    61
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
65
95
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We spent a night in Le petit Karoo Ranch after a long day of driving.
What a good place, the owner is extremely nice, we had some troubles on the road and arrived much later than expected, without having had the time to have dinner, he went into the trouble of preparing a last minut meal for us which was excellent.
The view is absolutely fantastic and the rooms are clean and stylish. It was too cold when we went to sleep in a tent but they look amazing. The breakfast was very good and what a pleasure to eat breakfast on those terraces...
I would definitely recommend this place, especially when the weather is hot to enjoy the tents and the pool.

Room Tip: get a tent if the weather is good enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maymaymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nimes
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I was travelling around the country and I end up in Oudshoorn at Le Petit Karoo Ranch with a friend of mine. We have been gladly surprised by the beautifull landscape on top of a colin, the size of the room (4 people can sleep there), the nice design and confort and its huge bathroom and balneo bath (great to relax after a long drive). Pascal the owner of the place is such a nice person and great cook. He is cooking a real great french cuisine (better than some french restaurants in France!), breakfast was amazing as well...our welcoming and stay have been such a good experience during our roadtrip in SA. I really recommend you to have a night or more there. And feel free to ask him about any advise on what to do around, or about the food you like or dislike...Pascal is a very nice and openminded person, doing his best for his guests to have a great time. Thanks again Pascal for everything, we really enjoyed our stay at your place. Christelle

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exchange_info
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Firstly would like to say that yes the views are stunning, if you want to stay with a room with a view then fine. Arrived for two nights stayed in a apartment at front these were basic and as far as the jacuzzie is concerned if you can call it that. Only window in bathroom was a little 2' x 2' which hardly opens and you cannot see out of anyway, which makes it dark and dingy. The breakfast was served on the deck, again veiw incredible, but food let down. On the second night we had a power cut at 6.30pm, we had to go and find owner to ask what was happening as he did not have courtesy to come and explain, we eventually got given 1 candle, we were a bit confused as there was power everywhere down the valley, we were told then it was his generator. We were then left till morning. Morning still no power or visit from owner nothing. So we packed up to leave in much need for a coffee. Went to pay the bill expecting to get a least a little discount and nothing he wanted full amount!. Tried to reason with him explaining that his problem with his back up generator should not be ours. He was then very intimidating towards me and just stood there with his hand out. As being the only ones there and a couple of women we had no choice but to pay the full amount...so we could get out... Never in my life have I been let down like this regarding customer service and so threatened..

Room Tip: Would not recomend any
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

A self catering tent without a fridge?? No fan?? (in Outshoorn at 34C) We requested breakfast to be served on our deck as advertised, but no arrangements were made or questions asked regarding this at all. Nothing happened the following morning..so we just head to town to grab some breakfast. No info in the tent regarding activities or restaurants in town. No taps on the spa bath (not a jacuzzi) only a spray that takes forever to fill up the bath.Views are beautiful though. Overall we had a good time, but we expected a lot more.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uzzy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

This was a great find! We arrived after spending the day driving the little karoo route from the wine country. It was lovely to arrive later afternoon and jut relax on our tent deck and read. Loved the tent! W has wine and a jacuzzi and then dinner was served on our deck and was delicious. Breakfast as well was nice. It was all very private. Delightful hosts and we love the dogs who have obviously been spoiled by guest attention. They are hilarious! Definitely worth the drive up and out of town and once you are there, you are well cared for.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latraveler3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2011

My boyfriend and I spent 10 days in South Africa. We stayed in beautiful guest houses throughout our stay but we can both honestly say Le Petit Karoo Ranch was the most magical place we discovered during our trip. It was just perfect! If you enjoy remote places, away from it all, you won't be disappointed with Le Petit Karoo Ranch. It is set on acres of beautiful landscape, where you can go walking for hours and hours. The hosts are so helpful and extremely friendly. Breakfast is served on your "patio" overlooking the valley - absolutely stunning! Definitely the highlight of our holiday, a place like no other

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie_Anthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
7.1 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
1.4 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
8.4 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
12.5 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
7.7 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Karoo Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Karoo Ranch

Property: Le Petit Karoo Ranch
Address: Caves Road, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Petit Karoo Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on top of a hill, Le Petit Karoo Ranch welcomes you in a beautiful nature setting. Come and spend a night in our bush tents. Each tented deck faces the Swartberg. We also have 2 family rooms and 2 double rooms. All rooms and tents have a Jacuzzi. Breakfast and dinner are served on our big deck where you can enjoy the panoramic view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Petit Karoo Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing