We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A SPECIAL PLACE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
Ranked #12 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A SPECIAL PLACE”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This is a firm favourite of mine. I have been here many times. This is a not a 5 star luxury destination but it is luxurious in terms of space, views and experience. Pascal, the French owner, is a gregarious host, ready to knock you up a filling meal at a moments notice. I prefer the tent decks rather than the normal rooms. You have views overlooking Oudtshoorn and the whole valley. With various trails you can hike from, this is an outdoor destination. The owner does a lot himself and he sometimes misses small details but in a such a beautiful environment, you don't really care.

Room Tip: Go for the tent decks. It's like sleeping outdoors but with much more comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neddy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    61
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
65
95
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed one night here and were very impressed! Pasquale the owner is charming and makes you feel very much at home! The tents are very comfortable and large, with a full size bed and quilts and lovely soft pillows. Sleeping was no problem it was so comfortable. I was dead set sure to have a spa bath but our time schedule got in the way on the day of departure but it would've been good, I'm sure. Sitting out on the deck absorbing the incredible panoramic view with a few local vinos was just the pleasantest experience. Our breakfast was delivered onto our deck and we enjoyed cereal, yogurt, bacon and eggs, toast and jam, orange juice, and lovely plunger coffee!, an excellent way to start our day. We highly recommend a stay here!!!!!! Thank you Pasquale!!!!!!

Room Tip: We had tent number 1...fabulous!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evelynvdH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Stopped in Oudtshoorn for one night, what a lovely place that happened to be recommended from someone in town. We stayed in one of the tents, which overlooked the mountain/valley. The tent was cozy and clean, and we had a great little breakfast on the deck area in the morning, such amazing views. Really enjoyed our stay, the owner Pascal was very welcoming. Overall a great experience, we look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

We (2 couples) stood there for only one night. The views were really great, but the whole place seemed to be not too well kept. The pretty small tents with their nice spa baths partly needed quite some renovation. The owner obviously took over the place from whomever and now is obviously not willing to spend some money to keep it state of the art. Le Petit Karoo would have much more potential!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhiteHunterFranconia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Located on top of a hill with a view of 50 shades of green...quiet...nature! Lovely welcome from the owner and his dogs :-). Decided to have supper on our deck - was delicious. One night out of civilization was exactly what we needed to chill and feel a little bit of what the initial voortrekkers felt.

Room Tip: The accomodation is simple - you come for the view and atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevzab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We spent a night in Le petit Karoo Ranch after a long day of driving.
What a good place, the owner is extremely nice, we had some troubles on the road and arrived much later than expected, without having had the time to have dinner, he went into the trouble of preparing a last minut meal for us which was excellent.
The view is absolutely fantastic and the rooms are clean and stylish. It was too cold when we went to sleep in a tent but they look amazing. The breakfast was very good and what a pleasure to eat breakfast on those terraces...
I would definitely recommend this place, especially when the weather is hot to enjoy the tents and the pool.

Room Tip: get a tent if the weather is good enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maymaymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nimes
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I was travelling around the country and I end up in Oudshoorn at Le Petit Karoo Ranch with a friend of mine. We have been gladly surprised by the beautifull landscape on top of a colin, the size of the room (4 people can sleep there), the nice design and confort and its huge bathroom and balneo bath (great to relax after a long drive). Pascal the owner of the place is such a nice person and great cook. He is cooking a real great french cuisine (better than some french restaurants in France!), breakfast was amazing as well...our welcoming and stay have been such a good experience during our roadtrip in SA. I really recommend you to have a night or more there. And feel free to ask him about any advise on what to do around, or about the food you like or dislike...Pascal is a very nice and openminded person, doing his best for his guests to have a great time. Thanks again Pascal for everything, we really enjoyed our stay at your place. Christelle

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exchange_info
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
7.1 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
1.4 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
8.4 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
12.5 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
7.7 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Karoo Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Karoo Ranch

Property: Le Petit Karoo Ranch
Address: Caves Road, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Petit Karoo Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on top of a hill, Le Petit Karoo Ranch welcomes you in a beautiful nature setting. Come and spend a night in our bush tents. Each tented deck faces the Swartberg. We also have 2 family rooms and 2 double rooms. All rooms and tents have a Jacuzzi. Breakfast and dinner are served on our big deck where you can enjoy the panoramic view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Petit Karoo Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing