We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simple but warm and efficient - just relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
Ranked #13 of 74 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
great brak river RSA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“simple but warm and efficient - just relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

A superb spot onto of a Karoo Hill. A warm and friendly welcome by Pascal le Francais, and on pre-booking some superb French cuisine, familial and tasty, in the Lapa or soon in a new clean small restaurant with MANY VIEWS... Scrumptious breakfast can be served in your room or private deck, or sheltered lounge near by.
Accommodation in the cottage is slick, neat and comfortable - a few details to review as the shower on the tub that can't be hanged above head, or the kettle cord too short to reach the plug. Tents in spring and summer offer a more exotic feel (don't be afraid of the wind!) with an outdoor bathroom.
Far from the artificiality of the traditional B&B's of the area, you will meet the Karoo there, and ... Pascal! ASK FOR HIS PATE ! Braai at the pool side in summer ? a must.

Room Tip: tents or valley side rooms for the stunning valley and mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    55
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
60
91
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Over rated ,paid in full and walked out, tiny tent no fridge, no braai ,the honeymoon tent was worse than the standard tent. Renovations going on so all you heard was drilling and workers, nothing pretty about the place and well over priced.Would not recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niki424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HESTIN, Owner at Le Petit Karoo Ranch, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Hello
sorry for your unconfortable days,
please contact us
we receive this price last week
kind regards
Pascal

Celebrate Your Certificate of Excellence!
TripAdvisor is delighted to award Le Petit Karoo Ranch with a 2014 Certificate of Excellence.
This prestigious award recognises businesses that consistently earn top ratings from TripAdvisor travellers. Showcase it to guests and staff with pride!
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We arrived in Oudtshoorn late in the afternoon and after trying to book somewhere to stay Pascal answered and managed to provide us with two rooms.
Beautiful is the only way to describe the view from our rooms, Pascal is a great and welcoming host who directed us to where we could have dinner. Breakfast was served on the "stoep" by such friendly and helpful staff.
Wonderful night spent here, and we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed here for one night and chose Le Petit Karoo for its location close to the Cango Caves and Cango Animal Farm. We had originally booked the luxury tent but as it was very breezy Pascal showed us the solid room option, which still had amazing views from the private verandah. We had read about the steep drive up to there but the hire car managed fine and the views from the top were worth it. Pascal was a charming host and cooked us a delicious French themed three course dinner with delicious kudu steaks for mains, washed down with good red wine. After a good night's sleep in a comfy bed, he prepared a good breakfast served to us on the verandah. We would definitely recommend staying here - there are a few minor things that could be improved but nothing that would stop me recommending a lovely welcoming place to stay in a great location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surreylady50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

The perfect place to stay if you want to explore the many activities in this part of the world and come back to a beautifully cooked meal served on your own balcony overlooking the small village against the stunning backdrop of the mountains. it was extremely hot, but the room was nice and cool.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene_S_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breganze, Italy
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We spent there one night in January 2012 and we will never forget that experience! Few tents completely surrounded by the bush let you feel the nature. But you're just few km away from Oudtshoorn on one side and the Cango Caves on the other side. The owner and staff are all very friendly and they'll make your stay relaxing and really agreable. In the camp there is also a small swimming pool were you can relax after a visiting day in the surroundings or after a day of trip, as it was our case. Prices absolutely client-freindly and! Silence and relax assured!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed here for a night in the tent accommodation. It was a beautiful place with views of the mountains and surrounding terrain. The property itself was charming; with horses, birds, beautiful natural landscape, and an covered open-air communal area to brai or enjoy a glass of wine. There was also a nice little swimming pool. We loved our outdoor hot tub on our back deck. We also had breakfast on our front patio the next morning while enjoying a majestic panoramic view of the surrounding mountains. This ranch is a quick drive to the Cango Caves and the Wildlife Ranch, which are both worth seeing if you are in the area!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank English N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
7.1 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.4 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
8.4 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
12.5 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
7.7 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Karoo Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Karoo Ranch

Property: Le Petit Karoo Ranch
Address: Caves Road, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Petit Karoo Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on top of a hill, Le Petit Karoo Ranch welcomes you in a beautiful nature setting. Come and spend a night in our bush tents. Each tented deck faces the Swartberg. We also have 2 family rooms and 2 double rooms. All rooms and tents have a Jacuzzi. Breakfast and dinner are served on our big deck where you can enjoy the panoramic view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Petit Karoo Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing