We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Air conditioned bliss”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oudtshoorn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monte Cristo Country Manor
Ranked #51 of 79 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 March 2010

The temperature was 45 degrees c when we arrived so we were very grateful to have air conditioning in the room and also a swimming pool. Monte Christo is in a residential area about 1 km from the main street - secure parking. Very peaceful setting; helpful hostesses and good breakfast. Handy for kango caves, ostrich farms and R62. Try the Headlines restaurant which has a good mix of locals and visitors. There is a shopping mall and also a book exchange shop 5mins away by car. We only had 2 days in Oudtschoorn but could have stayed here longer

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErnestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2010

Lovely top notch place. Would loved to have stayed longer. Friendly helpful staff. Parking ,bed,pool,breakfast were all good.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GC30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Our party of 4 spent 2 nights in the pool rooms at Monte Cristo. This accommodation is amongst the best we have stayed in in South Africa. Fantastic rooms, very close to the pool, which was superb. Both staff and the owner were friendly and helpful, and added to our enjoyment in ways I don't think they had intended! Close to town, but in a very quiet and safe area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuart66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Recently stayed one night at this guest house. It looked like it had been refurbished within the last year or so. The bedrooms were lovely, very modern and clean with TV, fridge, hair dryer etc. Bathroom was big, modern and clean. Nice pool in front of the guest house with a few loungers to use. Parking available in front of the guest house, which is secure during the night.
The two lady hosts at this guest house could not have been more helpful. Although there is no wi fi or PC for guests to use, the hosts were more than happy for guests to use the staff computer behind the check in desk if needed.
Breakfast was lovely with choice of hot or cold.
Great location for a visit to Cango Caves or Ostrich Farm.
We were recommended to eat at Jemima's Restaurant, which is 5 mins drive from the guest house. We had our best meal of our 2 week visit to SA at Jemima's. Food was fantastic and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stalig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We really enjoyed our three nights at this splendid guesthouse. Set in lovely gardens with a good size swimming pool (which we made good use of on our arrival in 37 degrees of heat!). Our hosts were very welcoming and certainly went the extra mile to make us feel at home. The rooms are very modern and no expense has been spared in providing all mod. cons. Lovely deck outside to drink a sundowner.
All in all, a perfect base from which to explore the surrounds, cross the Swartberg mountains etc.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Monte cristo advertises 4 star luxury accomodation and that is exactly what you get when you choose to stay there. Rooms are immacuately presented and all your needs are taken care of without the hosts being overly obtrusive. Always ready to giv e you their attention and nothing is left to chance. A real diamond of a find in oudtshoorn and very favourable rates.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denverUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

This is a real hidden gem, located in a very quiet part of the upmarket area in Oudtshoorn. It is a mere 1 minute drive to the centre of town and close to all the major restaurants.

The rooms are very luxurious and well appointed with a modern bathroom. Ask for the Deck Suites as they are the best. We stayed in Deck Suite 2. Attention to detail is key here and the owner and staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

The garden is very well maintained and there is a sparkling swimming pool. The view from the wooden deck is stunning.

Breakfast was great with a big variety of fruits, yoghurts, cerials and a full English Breakfast was served too. Our only regret was that we didn’t stay longer.

You won’t go wrong with this treat!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTown_Girl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.9 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
523 reviews
20.8 mi away
No photo provided
Backpackers Oasis Shanti
#27 of 53 in Oudtshoorn
61 reviews
5.1 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#4 of 53 in Oudtshoorn
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
325 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baron's Palace Hotel
Baron's Palace Hotel
#71 of 79 in Oudtshoorn
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Cristo Country Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Cristo Country Manor

Address: P O Box 1703, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing