We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special experience...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

If you're in the region, simply an unmissable stay. Owner is a bit of a character, but a mine of wildlife experiences!
Exquisitely renovated/decorated chalets, 'scattered' across a hillside in the wilderness. Literally, a 'private reserve', stocked with animals 'tame' enough to feed by hand - we fell in love with the bush-pig! You feel you have entered Dr Doolittle's domain.
All set against the backdrop of the jagged Swartberg mountain ranges - in the morning light, try tearing your eyes away!

Room Tip: Just select ANY of the chalets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barigowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

This is one of the most special places we visited during our 6 month sabbatical. The chalets, the silence, the dinner with Jann as the sun goes down and the animals going to get their food as you have your drink by the fire were indeed amazing experiences. you can also do some trekking inside the property, or follow the itinerary Jann will recommend you along the Karoo. It is simply breathtaking. If you're going to travel around this region, this place is a must. And the food, especially if you enjoy meat, is fantastic.

Room Tip: The chalet on the left hand side as you go up has the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed one night for Jann's place and hospitality is truly memorable, the evening meal round a roaring fire with Zebra, buck and a friendly bush-pig for company was marvellous, matched only by breakfast next morning. The chalets were cozy and comfortable with splendid views over the Swartberg Mountains. Jann has built a wonderful place where Africa can be really appreciated. One of the highlights of our African safari.

Room Tip: All are equally good, each with its own special character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed for one night during a 10 day break in South Africa and wished we had more time here. We were greeted by Jann (host) who recommended a fantastic iteniary on the spot an Ostrich farm (awesome), the caves and did the Swartberg mountain pass which was both scary and breathtaking. We got back to the lodge for sunset followed by dinner and the magic began. As Jann was cooking dinner we had antelope and zebra's feeding just a few feet away from our table which was one of the best surprises we had on vacation. The atmosphere, food, room, and sense of humour was very enjoyable for both me and my wife. We stayed in the zebra cottage next to the watering hole and it was comfortable, clean, private and relaxing. We stayed in lots of hotels/lodges during our 10 days in SA and this was by far the best value out of all of them. Would highly recommend you see the magic this lodge has to offer, Jann has done an amazing job. Jann could double his prices and it would still be fantastic value! Oh and make sure you visit the meerkats nearby!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmilieTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

What a breath of fresh air! Jan has infused his quirky nature into the entire place! The deck and the big fire pit made evenings so memorable. The rooms are comfortable. The view is AMAZING! I would recommend this place for a quiet getaway for a couple, or a family. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jannharoldbader, Owner at Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

As winter draws in and we close until 26th August I would like to take this opportunity to thank every single person who took the time and trouble to write us a review (even the motorbike guy,
the guest who got got bitten by the pesky insect and the lady who found the sticky teaspoon) .
Every review means the world to me personally, and I really do appreciate how our reviews differ so much from those associated with conventional lodges and boutique hotels !
When we do re-open in August it will be with a complete renovation, everything better and even more in keeping with our personality - I am sure we will have a terrific 2013/14.
Hopefully, everybody on tripadvisor will be back !!!! (probably not the motorbike guy).
Jann.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

First visit to the lodge, service was excellent and always with a smile.
although the weather was not that great, it was peacefull and wonderful to get away from the city.

the owner was attentitive and every need was looked after

the game was something to experience and watching the feeding of the animals was quite extraordirary.

will be back in summer for more enjoyment

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The food was amazing. Not only delicious but generous amounts. Jann really makes stay memorable. He is welcoming and very humorous. Having dinner with bush pig, zebras and springbok a real treat. Chalets individually decorated and comfortable, each with individual character. Cango Caves worth a visit and the nearby Waterfalls. We will be back but for longer.

Room Tip: All rooms the same except for theme. There is Springbok, Nguni and cant remember the other animal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Friendsinbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
11.5 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
515 reviews
10.9 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#9 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
189 reviews
1.3 mi away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#1 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
942 reviews
30.2 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#10 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
164 reviews
16.5 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge

Address: Vergelegen Road | Vergelegen Road, Oudtshoorn 6628, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £99 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge is set on a small private nature reserve 25 minutes from Oudtshoorn and 15 minutes from de Rust - our chalets are quaint and individually decorated in rustig animal themes and set high up in the hills where the views are breathtaking over the valley and Swartberg mountains. You can choose whether to go for a hike or just relax by the pool. Dinners are always an event here, having a sundowner whilst watching the animals graze and getting to know the other guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing