We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Queens Hotel(Oudtshoorn)
US$147
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hlangana Lodge(Oudtshoorn)
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
US$62
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
387
51
10
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
387
51
10
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstable decorationswatching the animalswild pigunique experienceklein karooother guestsopen firegreat companyself catering unitdelicious dinnerstunning placewatering holegarden routetwo nightsdirt roadhighlight of our tripbeautiful scenery
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 451 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Zwartberg View is a very beautiful place. The setting is just gorgeous and each chalet is unique. You can tell that so much thought and care is put into the details of the property. Jann is an excellent host who provides his guests with delicious homemade multi-course meals that are served in a very creative place setting. It was such a great experience to dine next to an open fire with zebras, spingboks, and elands walking about. I also befriended Celeste, the wild bush pig, who is super sweet!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much! Thanks to Jann for his great hospitality. The lodge is perfectly situated and the views are amazing. We never been so close to Zebras, Elands and Springboks. Friendly greatings to Celeste. :-) We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birgit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Jann is the best! We had a problem to enter the area because of the flooding, but Jann took us another way to his beautiful property and gave us his own car to drive to the caves next day. He prepared our meat on an open fire and it was delicious.The whole food was the best on our threeweek trip. We had only two days and we would like to have more time to stay here in this very calm area. To have the wild animals like eland, zebra, springbok and the friendly bush pig Celeste was very calming. We had only time for a short hike but it was wonderful and the view arround was although wonderful. We wish we are able to come again!!! The chalet was excellent and there is nothing missed. Jann and Amanda decorated the table daily different and beautiful. And we had a lot of interesting conversations about country and people. It is a perfect place for People they like the loneliness to have a cut-off from the daily routine. We take this place in our heart!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Two days in Oudtshoorn but I've seen lots of caves and Ostriches don't appeal so what to do? I discovered that Jann at Zwartberg View would allow non residents to use his hiking trails. I arranged via email a convenient time to visit and what a pleasure it was.
Swartberg View is an extensive estate through which Jann has set out several trails of varying lengths. My wife and I walked over hills and through shrub land for couple of hours, we could have walk longer but the mid day sun became too hot. We espied zebra and eland who in turn watched us as we walked through their habitat. Walking boots are required and the trails do include gentle ascents so this not for the Sunday stroller but if you like walking away from the crowds with a chance to see and be seen by african animals this is pleasurable way to spend a few hours.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank dncwynd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had the most amazing couple of days at the Zwartberg Mountain View – we wish we could’ve spent longer there. It is a bit off the beaten track – but not too far off, just 5km off the main road between Outdshoorn and De Rust. Far enough to feel like you are in the Karoo bush! The lodge is set on some 150ha of private reserve, complete with a wide selection of wild animals – eland, zebras, springbok, bontebok, hartebeest, and a very friendly bush pig. Most of the animals gather around the viewing deck water hole in the late afternoon and it was a great experience to sip cold drinks on the deck in front of a fire, watching the animals eat and drink below. There are numerous walking tracks of various lengths around the property and we saw animals on every one of our walks.

The free-standing chalets were excellent – roomy and airy with great views over the Karoo – a beautiful place to watch the sun set. There are only 3 chalets, located about a 5 minute walk from the main lodge, so they have a somewhat remote feel to them, which we really liked. The chalets have electricity, hot water, and fridge and are tastefully decorated with different animal themes. The chalets were very clean and well-maintained. The nights were so quiet – only the sound of the night animals to go to sleep by. Then morning brings the birdsong alarm clock, truly a magical experience.

The food served at the lodge was simply excellent, all South African themed meals with grilled meats and salads. We were most impressed by both the quality and quantity of the meals. We fell in love with the tame bush pig, a real character. She would roll over and beg for a belly scratch at every opportunity. We can’t forget Indy, the gentle terrier who kept us company during the evening.

The owner, Jaan, kept us entertained is the evenings with his stories and banter and great sense of humor. He made us feel most welcome at the lodge and took very good care of us – a proper host. Having built the place from scratch, Jaan was obviously very proud of what he had achieved in this little slice of Karoo heaven.

Overall we had an amazing stay at this lodge and would highly recommend it to other travelers. This is one of the best lodges that we have stayed in South Africa. We hope that we have the opportunity to stay here again in the future. This place is not to be missed!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews