We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paljas Restaurant - CLOSED

Paljas Restaurant
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Excellent service, exceptional food quality and presentation, they went out of their way to serve us as vegetarians , providing some great custom dishes, despite there being no option on the printed menus.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lochii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent service, but mediocre food and overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

We were a little bit disappointed by this restaurant that we had found in a guide... The menu is nice, but the quality of the food (ostrich was mediocre and certainly not as good as at dinner at Mooiplaas) just ok... Wine list is also quite limited...
Clearly too expensive for the quality...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Valjluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What an experience!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Once again Paljas has blown our minds with excellent food thats out of this world, an environment that just gulps you up and makes you want to stay forever!!!!!! This is for certain the best restaurant by far, we have never had anything to complain about. Thanx to Andre and staff for always ensuring that we have the best dining experience.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EtienneDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Ultimate Dining Experience in an Elegant yet Relaxed Atmosphere. One of the best meals I have had in my entire life!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012 via mobile

Just what you expect. Great food, romantic, and staff is eager to please. If you are in town for business then head here. Very nice menu with a good variety of options.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daniel-etienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Very bad service and food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

At the moment we arrived we noticed that the service lacks at this place. The menu doesn't looked very tempting, with we decided to give it a go... Bad decision, the food tasted as bad as it looked.
To avoid, there are better places to go in Oudtshoorn.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Freek V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paljas Restaurant also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing