We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and great service”
Review of The Colony

The Colony
Ranked #12 of 43 Restaurants in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Sedgefield, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and great service”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We went to the Colony restaurant for dinner and what a lovely experience it was. The atmosphere is old Colonial and very warm. We had an excellent waitress who was there for our every need and the food was tasty and worth it. We really enjoyed our dinner.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    47
    21
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Now had Springbok and Ostrich”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Very nice atmosphere, terrific service and wonderful food. We picked the ostrich and the springbok off the menu and both were delicious. I definitely preferred the springbok (stronger taste) over the ostrich (softer) but both were delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Top Class Experience”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

When staying in the Queens Hotel for one night, we ate here and were not disappointed. We all had a three course meal which was enjoyed by all and the desert was especially nice. The lamb was lovely even though the French Fries were slightly disappointing. The mushroom crepes as a starter were to die for though. The service was also very good and they were attentive. A very nice experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martia_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Colonial Splendour”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The restaurant provided us with a delicious "what-you-see-is-what-you-get" dinner. The service was friendly and efficient, our meal was tasty. The wine selection was also really good. Was a wonderful evening in a really beautiful hotel.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carriig_GH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The EXPEDITION Project visits The Colony”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We ate a delicious set 4 course menu that included some mouth-watering choices. Excellent food and service makes this a definite Oudtshoorn dinner stop.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank theEXPEDITIONproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Colony also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to The Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing