We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 77 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

What a great find. Huw and Zoe were the most fantastic hosts and could not have done more for us including inviting us in to the lovely fire to share a bottle of wine. Room excellent as was the breakfast. A wonderful couple and I cannot imagine that there is a better place to stay in Oudtshoorn. We would love to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed one night only in Oudtshoorn and was lucky that my tour operator booked this excellent place. Not big, more feel like at home. Clean, with all amenities required, comfortable bed and hearty breakfast in the morning. What do you need more? Zoe and Huw are born to be owners of this little gem. Thanks!

Room Tip: Restaurant Jemima's next door is well worth a visit. "Meat trio" is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank otk25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We arrived with a hearty Welsh welcome by Huw, the host, who also made us familiar with the ins and outs of the Guest House and surroundings. The rooms are very well appointed, comfortable beds and crisp linnen. En-suite and a beautiful bathroom with a seperate toilet which is very convenient. A very safe establishment on the main road in Oudtshoorn, which was no factor because the rooms are at the back of the beautiful old house. Nearby lovely restaurants and walking distance to all shops. The breakfast was out of this world!

I would recommend this place at all times - wonderful in all aspects.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILIKETRAVEL56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stay in the hotel one night and it was very comfortable with very good breakfast. The owners are very frendly and guest fill personal attention. Owners Zoe and Hum have also wide knowledge to guide people where to travel and what to see. We strongly recommend to book this guesthouse to all travelers in this area.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Wonderful. Zoe and Huw were splendid hosts . Their attention to detail and welcoming nature made it a very special part of our holiday.Giving so much of their time and attention we felt like we were visiting old friends. If we ever return to Oudtdshoorn that's where we'll be heading without a doubt !

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

B & B is located along quite a busy main road (although we were not disturbed during the night by any noise) and is in two sections. The first is the old main house which contains a lounge room and the breakfast room and has a number of verandah/stoep rooms with private entrances attached to it running off a pathway down the side of the building. The second is a newer section, the "Barn" which is at the back of the property next to the pool. There is off street secure parking behind an electric gate.

We had a verandah/stoep room, 3 steps up from the external pathway to the verandah. The room was a reasonable size with a queen sized bed (soft but comfortable), wardrobe, small table, chair, colour TV, air conditioning/heating, tea/coffee making facilities and a bar fridge. There was no safe. Free WIFI worked well.

Large bathroom with large shower which had good pressure. No bath.

Whilst the room was comfortable and both the room and bathroom very clean, the furnishing were fairly dated.

Small external verandah had a table and a couple of chairs.

Breakfast was a small cold buffet, choice of 5/6 cereals, yoghurts, fruit salad, seasonal fruit bowl, juice, some cakes (chocolate appears to be the house specialty), jams, bread/toast and filtered coffee, plus a cooked breakfast, eggs, bacon etc, that you were requested to pre-order the night before.

B & B is in very close proximity to a number of restaurants and approximately 28klms from Cango Caves.

Our hosts, Huw and Zoe, were both exceptionally friendly and helpful. We were provided with maps of the local area and details of things to do via e-mail shortly after our booking. On arrival and after we had settled in we sat down with Huw on the front verandah over a free glass of wine as he explained the restaurants and attractions in town and the surrounding areas. Zoe also joined us later and gave us recommendations as to where to buy the best ostrich leather products.

Perhaps we had been spoilt by the surrounds at some other places where we stayed in SA but in the absence of our friendly hosts we would not have rated this B & B as highly even though this was far cheaper and perhaps better value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank westy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Baron Van Reede and we can honestly say that Zoe and Huw were two of the most outgoing people we have ever met. They clearly wanted to make sure we enjoyed our stay and taught us a lot about living in South Africa. There is loads to do in Oudtshoorn, we should have stayed 4 nights rather than 2. Cango wildlife, Cango caves, Buffelsdrift, Ostrich Farm - the list goes on. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice and the rooms were smashing. This was one of the highlights of our holiday and we would definitely go back. Thanks you Zoe and Huw.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
515 reviews
1.4 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#4 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
592 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
555 reviews
1.1 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#3 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse

Address: 88 Baron van Reede Street | Route 62, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £44 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our 150 year old sandstone home in the centre of the historical town of Oudtshoorn at the heart of the Klein Karoo. We are centrally located and walking distance to all popular restaurants in town. All 10 rooms are en-suite with separate entrances. Complimentary coffee & tea facilities and guest amenities are provided. A cooked breakfast is served to you whilst you relax on our verandah, watching the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing