We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“possibly the best guest house on the western cape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“possibly the best guest house on the western cape”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This guest house is run by a lovely couple who go to the enth degree to ensure your stay will be the best it could possibly be.
The rooms are extremely well appointed and decorated to a high standard.
Everything is clean and working.
The information pack in the rooms is extensive but Zoe and Hugh are only to willing to give advice on many things from where to eat to what attractions are worth a visit.

Hugh seems to be a one man marvel and cooks a mean breakfast too.

My only regret is that we only stopped one night.

Room Tip: all the rooms are equally as good so there is no issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    52
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
390
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

we stayed here while travelling between knysna and mosslebay but wish we had stayed longer. Huw and Zoe made you feel like one of the family nothing seemed to much trouble- even had umbrellas when it rained! The rooms had everything you need from flannels to hairdryers and even a what to do and where to eat guide.
Amazing place to stay well worth a visit if you are ever in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My best friend got married, and I was asked to be a bride's maid. Her brother treated us to a "girls" night at 88 Baron van Reede guest house the night before her wedding and we also used the guesthouse to get dressed before the wedding (as the couple would be spending their wedding night there as well.) What a treat! The owners Huw and Zoe made everyone feel so special, they were so helpful! Friendly and organised. The room we spent the night as friends were very comfortable, just what we needed after a week of wedding planning and hen nights! The beds were comfortable, they put snacks in the room for us, and everything else we had asked for like champagne glasses and crockery! They really walked the extra mile to accommodate all of our requests! The breakfast was fantastic! A lovely warm breakfast accompanied by nice coffee in big cups! Not to mention the rest of the good things to eat!
And Zoe really helped in making my friend's special day an unforgettable one, for which I am very thankful too!
I can recommend 88 Baron van Reede with a smile and very fond memories! Simply the best guest house in Oudtshoorn for sure!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ejolandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We really liked this place. The interior of the rooms was tasteful and it had everything we needed (hairdryer, shower caps). We also liked the beds, they were very comfy. Huw and Zoe were very friendly hosts, Huw sat down with us and gave us some suggestions for our journey to Paarl the next day. We followed up on all of them and they were all great. Also we got to borrow the DVD player and some DVD's which was really nice.

The only downside of our stay was that we only stayed for one night!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saskia146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
313 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This was a great find- very welcoming hosts in Huw and Zoe, clean well appointed rooms and a lovely breakfast. Zoe had made great apple pastries and muffins and a mean fruit salad. Huw meanwhile served up the hot stuff. They truly seem to love their role and kindly even asked us to join them for an Amarula coffee ( obviously got the measure of us as we were already drinking a Bottle of stellenbosch finest!). Good advice re onward travel and suggestions for activities etc. Would have no hesitation in recommending to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

What a great find. Huw and Zoe were the most fantastic hosts and could not have done more for us including inviting us in to the lovely fire to share a bottle of wine. Room excellent as was the breakfast. A wonderful couple and I cannot imagine that there is a better place to stay in Oudtshoorn. We would love to come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed one night only in Oudtshoorn and was lucky that my tour operator booked this excellent place. Not big, more feel like at home. Clean, with all amenities required, comfortable bed and hearty breakfast in the morning. What do you need more? Zoe and Huw are born to be owners of this little gem. Thanks!

Room Tip: Restaurant Jemima's next door is well worth a visit. "Meat trio" is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otk25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#3 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
1.1 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pictures Guest House
Pictures Guest House
#2 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse

Property: 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Address: 88 Baron van Reede Street | Route 62, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our 150 year old sandstone home in the centre of the historical town of Oudtshoorn at the heart of the Klein Karoo. We are centrally located and walking distance to all popular restaurants in town. All 10 rooms are en-suite with separate entrances. Complimentary coffee & tea facilities and guest amenities are provided. A cooked breakfast is served to you whilst you relax on our verandah, watching the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing