We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number 1!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 77 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Exceptionally warm welcome. Zoe and Huw made us feel at home away from home! They're sensitive to our needs and gave us plenty of helpful information. The breakfast was delicious and they went out of their way to make sure that our vegan daughter had vegan food (!). The rooms were clean and warmly decorated. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B_you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
There are newer reviews for 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

This was our second visit to 88 Baron von Reede Guesthouse, which tells you something right there. Zoe and Huw, the owners, are friendly, accommodating and just plain fun! They invite you to the front veranda for a drink and help you plan your visit by making suggestions and making arrangements for you at local restaurants. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, thanks to a really friendly cleaning staff. The guesthouse is ideally located in the center of Oudshoorn and walking distance to many wonderful eating places. The guest get to fill out a menu sheet for breakfast, and Huw and Zoe meet you with tea or coffee and a hot breakfast. Cereals, fruits, muffins, etc. Conveniently located by many great restaurants, as well as the Cango Caves, the Karusa Winery, the Lantana Cheese making farm and many ostrich farms. If we ever have the chance to return, I'm sure we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Warm and welcoming with owner involvement. A pleasant room with special touches like double washbasins . Spotlessly clean. An airconditioner to provide warmth on cold winter nights. Would have appreciated an electric underblanket to take off the winter chill from the sheets. Secure parking and in close proximity to most of the restaurants. Would certainly recommend .

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CourteneyGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

You can feel at home at the moment of arriving in this Guesthouse. Zoe and Huw are so friendly and nice. They do their work with engagement, humor and a lot of love! Its nice to stay there! On our tour along the garden route we stayed in 6 B&Bs and this one was imply the best. The Informations about the attractions and things we can do were very good. The rooms are very clean and nice and sometimes you can find lovely Details.... The breakfast is very good. We enjoed our time in Oudtshoorn. Thank you vey much!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doerthe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

got lucky to stay in 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse‬ as part of our 5 weeks trip to south africa.
we were greeted by huw and zoe and got an informative explenation about the area and atrraction around it. the breakfest was nice and the rooms were clean and very well arranged

thank you guys for a wonderful hospitality

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amirh757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This amazing guesthouse in runned by an extremely friendly nice couple called How and Zoë!
They give you the best service and let you feel at home!
They got a lot of information about things to do in and around Oudtshoorn, try their recommandation of the restaurants in Oudtshoorn, you wouldn't regret it! There is a perfect pizzaria down the street and a real old school local bar as well. Don't forget to stop at the local bar called "De Kroeg", realy friendly people!
Probably one of the best breakfasts I've ever had in a guesthouse, you get a "breakfast form" where you can mark your wishes. It's definitely worth it to stay longer then one night!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasper C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Spent two nights here during our recent holiday. Wish we could have stayed a bit longer. Huw and Zoe are everything you could wish for in hosts. Friendly and helpful and with brilliant humour. They gave us expert guidance as to what to do and where to go. The rooms have everything we needed - the towel arrangements really made us laugh!
Highlight of our stay was the elephant encounter at Buffelsdrift. A real experience we'll treasure forever.
The breakfasts are perfect as is the lovely restaurant two doors away. Highly recommended - we'd go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fellgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
492 reviews
1.4 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#3 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
551 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#4 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yotclub B&B
Yotclub B&B
#10 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse

Address: 88 Baron van Reede Street | Route 62, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £37 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our 150 year old sandstone home in the centre of the historical town of Oudtshoorn at the heart of the Klein Karoo. We are centrally located and walking distance to all popular restaurants in town. All 10 rooms are en-suite with separate entrances. Complimentary coffee & tea facilities and guest amenities are provided. A cooked breakfast is served to you whilst you relax on our verandah, watching the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing