We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 77 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2010

88 Baron van Reede certainly is one of the best guesthouses we stayed in during our latest trip to South Africa.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable; you get a great and large bed; a fridge; a TV, airco; a large bathroom; separate toilet; private terrace (stoep) and i am certainly forgetting some things.
Breakfast is very good (full south African), but the best thing about this place are the hosts. Zoë and Huw are fairly new to the business, but they are incredible hosts; friendly, helpful and oh so great people. We very much enjoyed our too short stay with them.
If you are going to stay in Oudtshoorn, stay at 88 Baron Van Reede, you won't regret it.
Tips and friendliness are free, the stay is not free, but it is a real bargain

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosLeuven_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2010

We were met by Hugh and Zoe, the owners, on arrival and shown to very luxurious rooms. They made us feel at home and were very hospitable. It flet like a home away from home. I will go back there in a heart beat.:-)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spikkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

88 Baron van Reede is a gem of a place. Everything about this place is great. The owners are naturally personable and very informative, the guesthouse is lovely and centrally located, and everything is kept absolutely sparkling clean.

During our stay, the Zoe and Huw were exceptionally kind and helpful, and I would recommend this guesthouse without reservation. (But do make reservations!)

As a bonus, the name of the guesthouse is also the address, so you'll have one less thing to remember on your trip!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Semicolon2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

We stayed at this inn and arrived rather last minute but the owners gave us a lovely room which was clean and modern looking with a spacious bathroom. The owner offered us tea and coffee on arrival and really made us feel welcome! The location is perfect and close to many restaurants. It's on one of the main roads in town but the rooms are quiet. Further, the owner even put on a popular movie for us directly onto the tv in the room and in the morning had a brew of coffee and muffins in the main dining area even though we told her we had to leave early before the normal time for breakfast. There's also a lovely outside area to sit in for breakfast and a pool! Do yourself a favor and pick this place to stay. You will be glad you did. We come before the busy season but make sure to book a room in advance during the busy season.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missslayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Loved it. Rooms are great, hosts are genuinely nice. Location is perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We were thoroughly impressed by this guest house. The room was absolutely lovely, all we could ask for - very well situated in an old "sandsteen" house in the historical Oudtshoorn. The hosts were a pleasure to meet, and we were terribly spoiled by them. Wish to thank them again, and wish them all the best with this venture.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonnietjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Walked into this restored old world gem, and Zoe and Hue ,immediately made me feel like I had arrived at the home of one of my old university friends. Modern ,spotlessly clean rooms,with seriously comfortable beds.Lovely little veranda to sit and great the day ,or have a late afternoon beer..Zoe , an experienced world traveller, gave us a serious download of all there was to do,including maps and even menus for different restaurants.Breakfast was healthy ,hearty , and I really appreciated the special vegetarian dish put together by Hue.Hope to stay there again in the restful territory of R 62. Mervyn and Dinesh Johannesburg

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilpostino50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
515 reviews
1.4 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#4 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
592 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
555 reviews
1.1 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#3 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse

Address: 88 Baron van Reede Street | Route 62, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £44 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our 150 year old sandstone home in the centre of the historical town of Oudtshoorn at the heart of the Klein Karoo. We are centrally located and walking distance to all popular restaurants in town. All 10 rooms are en-suite with separate entrances. Complimentary coffee & tea facilities and guest amenities are provided. A cooked breakfast is served to you whilst you relax on our verandah, watching the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing