We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable sunrise adventure”
Review of Meerkat Adventures

Meerkat Adventures
Ranked #1 of 6 Tours in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newcastle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Memorable sunrise adventure”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Meerkat Adventure was a great excuse for us to deviate from the Garden Route to explore Oudtshoorn. We weren't disappointed in our decision. The meerkats were fascinating to watch once they showed themselves to Devey. He set us up to observe the meerkats come out of their burrow at sunrise. The weather and wildflowers were beautiful. Only one hitch-no meerkats. Devey took off and radioed to his assistant that the meerkats were in another location and on the move. We all raced over the praire to meet Devey and did get to see the meerkats in action - moving at a quick pace to who-knows-where but doing what meerkats do - stop, play, observe and move again. The family is wonderful - I hope that Devey is able to continue to take people to visit them in their natural surroundings. The opportunity to see them was worth every dollar of the Adventure.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaylene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    30
    13
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Devey Glinster is one of a kind. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience with him, observing meerkats in the wild, at close proximity. They are not trained but Devey has over time made them used to having humans so close to them. We appreciated his great knowledge of the meerkats and also his ambitions of what he wants to do for them. Be sure to dress warmly as it can be very cold out in the veld so early in the morning, so we also appreciated the warm drink and rusks Devey provided. While some may think it is on the expensive side, you must realise that you could never experience coming so close to totally wild meerkats anywhere, so it was worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThermoQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Albert, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“A unique experience”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

i'd like to go again, it was so wonderful.
Devey has the talent to be able to communicate well with both meerkats and humans, and the information he gives during the adventure is fascinating, factual and entertaining.
what i liked about it most was that we were able to visit the meerkats and see them behaving naturally in their own habitat, without intruding on them, or exploiting them. Devey is not only enabling this, but also educating people to understand and appreciate Meerkats as wild animals.
we went in the winter - a beautiful sunny morning - so it wasn't such an early start as summer time, but, even though i am a night owl, i'd get up at 4am to do this.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DesertRain2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time and money”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I will consider this the ultimate rip off of my trip to South Africa. Up before dawn to sit on the side of a road waiting for a crocodile Dundee wanna be to show up and lead you around the corner. Yes there was coffee and tea there but I would have preferred an extra hours sleep over the clandestine farce. The day we were there was overcast and cloudy. There were almost 30 of us all having paid a pretty penny to sit in the middle of a field while our "guides" walked around looking for Meerkats. Perhaps if it was sunny they would have been basking in the sunshine but I understand they do not come up in the rain and it is my opinion anyway that they do not come up in overcast weather either so it was just an opportunity to waste 3 hours of our time and try to justify the money they charged. Don't be taken like I was. If the sun isn't shining don't go.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sandrapauwels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Meerkatfun!”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The meerkat experience was everything it promised to be! Before we actually went to the merkat viewing point, we were pampered with hot chocolate, coffee, tea and rusk because it is very cold before sunrise. The tour people check out in the evening where the meerkats will come out of their borrows. When the sun came up, they showed themselves for the longest time, while we were sitting on comfortable folding chairs tucked in with blankets, pointing cameras. They don't get disturbed but are not tamed either. Until they show the tour guide gives details on their behavior and how the visitors should behave. While the meerkats are out, our guide Rudolf took photos, so all of us are in the pictures with the furry guys. While still on tour on the garden route, he emailed the photos! Awesome!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TatiAfrika13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Meerkat Adventures also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Meerkat Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing