We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Natural, unhurried and a fountain of knowledge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meerkat Adventures

Meerkat Adventures
Ranked #1 of 5 Tours in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mossel Bay
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Natural, unhurried and a fountain of knowledge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

After watching some four-striped field mice eats rusk crumbs we picked up our chairs and ambled down the short slope to the warren of the day. This is the warren that our field guides believed the meerkats to be from observing them the day before. Meerkats move around quite a bit and may sleep in a different warren each night- as they will have excavated quite a few within their normal range. The same family – have a number of burrows in this area. Tricky little blighters! Meerkats spend from 10 to 60 minutes on sentry duty as the sun comes up. Generally males commit to this duty more frequently than females but all group members will do lookout at some point. One of the smaller males came out to see who we were and what we wanted. As the meerkat squizzed at us he warmed his tummy in the sun and yawned a lot. could quickly see why meerkats are loved so much by people. Their little faces are so alert and endearing. Devey Glinister who runs the tours is supremely knowledgeable about the little guys- and all this just through hours and hours of dedicated observation. Everything he knows, Devey has learned through patiently watching the sun angels as they go about their daily chores Oh… how I wish all animal interactions were run like this. Humans come into the wild- and into the animals territory- for just an hour- and off the animals go- wild and free to continue their daily lives as we do ours. A highly recommended trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaAyerst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    27
    13
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“meerkat tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

...did the meerkat tour this morning...wonderful...can only recommend it...their knowledge of and passion for the meerkats is something special...worthwhile getting up at 5h00 to get there in time...

Helpful?
Thank Renpret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich UK
Level Contributor
423 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“great opportunity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Can't really say anything new here, it's incredible but true. Devey knows which burrow they'll emerge from and astonishingly the family of 10 wild meerkats were oblivious to the dozen people lined up what, 20 feet away; did their morning Meerkat routine for an hour or so, then scarpered off for their day of hunting beetles and mice. The funniest thing was they appeared much more concerned at the reappearance of a minibus returning to collect some of the group way off on the horizon than the people in front of them. Great work, Devey; for those of us living on the other side of the planet this is, genuinely, a one-off chance of a lifetime. Do It.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fun but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Really enjoyed this and would recommend to others. Its informative and well organised and as Devey et al are so committed you are almost guaranteed meerkats. As the group size is so big, you drive yourself there, the coffee is instant, you carry your own chair (as opposed to a pre set up camp thing), i did feel this wasnt quite "special" enough to justify the price tag. That said, a lot of work goes in to this to ensure people see the meerkats but that they arent disturbed in their day to day which we appreciated. Did enjoy, just found expensive.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth_is_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paternoster, South Africa
Level Contributor
170 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A must do !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

What an experience this was ! A very knowledgeable mentor who knows the entire meerkat family at this site. This experience has been built very slowly over the years through careful observation . They now accept his presence and go about their daily chores as if they do not have an audience at all ; which adds so much to the overall experience. Astounded to see how close we were to them ; I thought maybe binoculars would be needed. Not so, they were mere Metres away.
Good too to see that they have not been interfered with ; feeding and touching are no - no's . So all you do is sit comfortably and observe and digest the running commentary on their behavior as it plays out in front of you.Highly , highly recommended

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CourteneyGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Meerkat Adventures also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Meerkat Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing