We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most excellent stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverside Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Durbanville, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Most excellent stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

What an amazing experience we had at this fine establishment!

The staff welcomed us with smiles and were always quick to assist with anything. Estelle made us feel right at home and we can't wait to visit again.

We will MOST definitely recommend the Lodge to our friends. Keep up the great work!

Room Tip: The rooms are divine but the cottages are just amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    66
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
44
194
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Thank you estelle and staff we had a fantastic stay...the kids enjoyed them and you made ourselves feel at home..your breakfast was out of this world..keep up the great work we defnitly refer you to anyone.mwah hugs...you are tops!Melissa Timotheus

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melicet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I love it here! The hospitality is fantastic and the accomodations are perfect, just what we wanted. Close to everything and value for money!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittavos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We recently visited and stayed over for 2 nights at the Riverside Lodge situated in Oudtshoorn, Western Cape, South Africa.

I would like to highly recommend this lovely place, where nature and tranquility definately meets! We had such a lovely, most enjoyable and relaxing time!

Their accommodation and service excellence is of the highest standard as well as the meals prepared.

Thank you for making our trip a most memorable one! We will most definately return!

Truly a piece of heaven at a great price!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Thanks to Estelle and Diana for turning my husbands business trip into a special family holiday experience. The views, the spacious honeymoon suite and the hospitatlity was amazing. This was my first time visiting and staying in Oudtshoorn and I was not dissapointed in the accomodation. I don't even have to look any further for future stays as this will be our first accomodation choice...hands down!! Just wish I had more time to soak up the views and the sun on the deck.

Room Tip: The honeymoone suite is very spacious and has a bath and shower. The other rooms are suitable for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasmin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

Was here about 9x and I will not stay anywhere else in Oudshoorn. Times when Riverside Lodge was not available we had to resort to go to other accommodation, but that was definitely not to the same standard as what we are used to at Riverside Lodge. The owner and hostess of Riverside Lodge Oudshoorn goes out of her way to accommodate your requests and needs. The food, atmosphere, accommodation and view is really great, especially watching the sunset go down over the mountain from the top deck while relaxing in the deck splash pool with a nice something cold to drink. Absolutely fabulous place, none better in Oudshoorn. I always enjoy staying here.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rin-mlbr43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

What a place. It is very central, walking distance from town. Your view are excellent from the deck. You can sit in the pool and over looking the Swartbergpass. It feels like home from home with all the hospitality that you receive. The food are excellent and the the people are very friendly and helpful. A great experience to stay there, one of the best places ever been to. Riverside Lodge Rocks.

Room Tip: Wooden house are excellent .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleDevil_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.9 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
4.9 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
15.9 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#7 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Lodge

Property: Riverside Lodge
Address: 84 Church Street (Kerkstraat), Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Lodge is perfectly situated in the very heart of Oudtshoorn, overlooking the restful waters of the Grobbelaars River at the historic suspension bridge. The Lodge is situated on the riverbanks, with a panoramic view of the Swartberg Mountains. This "beauty" lies within easy walking distance of the town centre, giving you the freedom to explore the tourist attractions and superb restaurants. Riverside Lodge provides B&B and Tree-houses (Built by an "artist"), coupled with exceptional service and hospitality in a distinguished environment. The Lodge is famous for its Kudu and Springbok fillets, cheeseboards and wine selections, served on the deck, overlooking the Swartberg Mountains and Grobbelaars River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing