We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“*****5 stars for great hosts, cosy rooms and splendid breakfast”
Review of Riverside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riverside Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Every single experience we had of staying here, was simply the best we experienced in our road trip of the Garden Route.

Sanet, our host was simply wonderful in taking care of our every silly needs.

The rooms were not just excellent, but you will discover if you stay here so many wonderful details. Including the excellent shower, balcony and fireplace to name the most important.

Breakfast is in one word, excellent. If the weather is perfect you can sit outside and eat while the sun shines in your face.

Room Tip: We stayed at the tree house, it was brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fayaz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

It is simply a stunning experience staying here. All the finer touches smack of luxury and elevating the guest's experience. The décor is amazing in every respect, together the deck/natural woods and views provide a tranquil feel and the breakfasts surpass most 5 star hotels. Best hosts ever!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Deon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Great stay! Helpful people, charmful bar with truthful selfcatering. Central location
One of the best place to be there with friends. Beautyful terrace.
The only negative thing, du to its lovely old fashion design und our clothes smelled afterwards a bit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gregor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

If you're going to be in this area, this is a super catch, especially for those who enjoy self catering. We had an awesome cabin with almost a full kitchen except for just a small two burner stove. There was a bedroom with super comfy bed, large back patio with table and additional sitting spot, inside sitting area and ginormous fireplace that would be really fun to get going in the winter. There were also two additional bunkbeds and a couch that could be a bed. We didn't take advantage of breakfast so can't comment on that, but the main house where that's served is lovely and has lots of hang out areas including games and a little pool.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BetsyG58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We had an absolutely amazing time in this quaint lodge in Oudtshoorn.

There has been such close attention to detail in and outside of this magnificent place that you could spend half your time walking through the main lounge, outside and in your only room checking out all the nooks and cranny's.

Johann was absolutely sensational, helping us out with every minor issue we dealt with. The serving staff would immediately bring us snacks and drinks when we decided to sit by the pool outside, which is a rarity in other accommodation we've stayed.

If you're ever in Oudtshoorn, spend a couple of nights in this lodge and you won't regret it!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank GarethMorkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Excellent lodge, very very atmospheric and incomparable setting, it was a few minutes walk to the shops and main street, clean spacious rooms, absolutely recommendable, very helpful and kind owners, breakfast served in a most wonderful warm and homely environment. God bless!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Very nice room decoration but windows giving on wall makes room very dark.
Electrical wiring as for hairdryer hazardeous (wires connected with insulating tape).
Recommend self catering units with view on river.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eddy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.8 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
503 reviews
4.9 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
921 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#4 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
540 reviews
9.3 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Lodge

Address: 84 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £56 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Lodge is perfectly situated in the very heart of Oudtshoorn, overlooking the restful waters of the Grobbelaars River at the historic suspension bridge. The Lodge is situated on the riverbanks, with a panoramic view of the Swartberg Mountains. This "beauty" lies within easy walking distance of the town centre, giving you the freedom to explore the tourist attractions and superb restaurants. Riverside Lodge provides B&B and Tree-houses (Built by an "artist"), coupled with exceptional service and hospitality in a distinguished environment. The Lodge is famous for its Kudu and Springbok fillets, cheeseboards and wine selections, served on the deck, overlooking the Swartberg Mountains and Grobbelaars River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing