We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A definite must”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gumtree Guest House
Ranked #4 of 77 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Agree with all positive reviews. Hosts so good on advice on what to see locally. We took the awesome drive across the swartberg pass to Prince Albert, had an excellent lunch at Lazy Lizard then back through merienberg pass. Supper with other guests at die Coloniel - food average but fun evening.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NessandDorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
There are newer reviews for Gumtree Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2012

We spent 2 nights at Gumtree and Phil has been our favorite host during our 3 week trip through South Africa. He shows a lot of interest in his guests and always provided us with great recommendations for dinners and sights. He’s knowledgeable and his enthusiasm is contagious!
The guest house is lovely, with a wonderful breakfast in the morning. Our room was comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Linda and Phil are wonderful hosts. I booked online and ended up with the last available room which was a 2 bedroom cottage. Phil was very kind and moved to a sunnier single room the next day. He even moved my stuff for me while I was out doing the bike ride down Swartberg Pass. And the guest house attracts lovely people - I was traveling solo but wound up having a really fun meal (at a very yummy restaurant recommended by Phil) with 2 other couples.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brusheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed one night at this lovely guest house. The room was very comfortable, lovely gardens and pool. Linda and Phil were very friendly and helpful - particularly with advice about where to visit and assitstance in booking a restaurant etc. We wished we could have stayed longer. Would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed two nights at this lovely venue, one at the end of January and the other mid February on our return along Route 62. Great hosts Phil and Linda very welcoming and good with advice about restaurants and places to visit. Rooms are very well equipped and comfortable and breakfast good, with superb fresh baked bread.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bolsybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Linda and Phil made our stay just perfect. Our room was really comfortable - with personal touches not seen before. Breakfast was simply superb: Phil's bread would win competitions here in the UK and the use of wonderful local products made choosing difficult! It was brilliant to meet you both and cannot praise your helpfulness enough. All visitors to Oudtshoorn should stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Thanks Phil & Linda for a wonderful stay. Your friendliness and hospitality was much appreciated. The breakfast was superb!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toronto1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.9 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
492 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
304 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
536 reviews
0.9 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#3 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yotclub B&B
Yotclub B&B
#10 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumtree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumtree Guest House

Address: 139 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £49 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gumtree Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gumtree Guest House is one of the finest in Oudtshoorn, overlooking the Grobbelaars River and the historic Suspension bridge. This guest house offers luxury and charm, in the shade of a century old giant gumtree. Close to town but with a beautiful view, many restaurants and attractions are within 5-10 minutes walking distance for guests. Our rooms offer the comforts of air conditioning, ceiling fans, hairdryers, toiletries, beverage packs, electric blankets, TVs, tea/coffee trays and minibar fridges. Each room has its own external entrance. Amenities available to guests include laundry services, Wifi and Internet Access, and telephone/fax facilities. We are fully licensed and offer a cosy bar which is ideal for pre-dinner cocktails or post-dinner nightcaps and features a fireplace on chilly winter nights as well as satellite television. Our breakfast features as much locally sourced produce as possible and we offer Continental and cooked breakfasts. Barbecue facilities are available near the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gumtree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gumtree Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing