We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gumtree Guest House
Ranked #5 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria, UK
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed at The Gumtree for just one night as part of our honeymoon. There is much to do and see in the surrounding area and I have to say the Gumtree made for an excellent base. The B&B is located down a quiet side street set back from the main street, the grounds are very well kept with a lovely decking and pool area overlooking a river and suspension bridge-the pictures of the floods and stranded tourists on the river in the dinning room were very interesting! You have the use of free WiFi which is always a bonus. The dinning room was well presented and the cooked breakfast very enjoyable and as good as any we had while in SA.

The rooms were clean and well appointed, if your sad like me and like to watch a bit of TV in bed you may be disappointed at the lack of channels available but no huge loss. We ate at Brain’s Grill which is about a 5 minute walk from the B&B and served great food at very reasonable prices. As there are many negative stereotypes about personal safety when it comes to SA in general we felt perfectly safe walking around the street of Oudtshoorn, there are no high fences/barbed wire that are common place in the larger town and cities elsewhere in the country and I found the town charming and laid back.

There is much to do and see in the area, I’d highly recommend the Cango Caves and Wildlife ranch.

When rating a hotel/B&B I mainly consider the value for money, room quality etc and the Gumtree in my opinion offer excellent value hence the 5* rating as there is nothing I have to say negative about our experience there. I’d certainly recommend The Gumtree to anyone looking to stay in the area.

Andrew & Alison

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    106
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
138
307
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

For us, the Gum Tree was a one-nighter as we passed through Oudtshoorn. During our brief stay, we had a nice breakfast and unlimited wifi use. Both are big wins in my book. The staff was kind but we didn’t have (or need) much interaction with them given our quick stay. We didn’t feel entirely comfortable walking around. We got quite of bit of attention from locals asking us for money. For this reason we ended up driving to find a place to eat. Over all this place is just fine for a one night stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Counpig98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THC61, Owner at Gumtree Guest House, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Hallo,

Thank you for your review of Gumtree Guest House.

I am sorry we never got to meet personally as I was away at the time of your stay but I am glad to see your positive comments about our staff - thank you.

I was quite surprised about your comments re walking around town as Oudtshoorn is generally considered quiet and safe in South Africa. Most of our guests tend to walk to restaurants in the evenings during the warmer months, as do we - without any problems or concerns. Your report is the first incident I have heard of in Oudtshoorn in our 16 months at Gumtree and hopefully it will be the last. I will pass your feedback on to the local authorities.

On behalf of Gumtree and Oudtshoorn Tourism I apologize for the inconvenience and hope that you will visit Oudtshoorn and Gumtree again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

What an amazing Guest House. A warm welcome by Phil was followed by an introductory tour of our rooms and a brief overview of the facilities. Attention to detail in the beautiful and spacious rooms was unbelievable and very welcome. The view over immaculate gardens and pool area was stunning - what a well kept and well run place. Phil's wife was away at the time of our visit but nothing, absolutely nothing was too much trouble for Phil, who clearly was only too pleased to help with anything. We were given welcome drinks on arrival and we very much enjoyed meeting with the other guests who were there that day. Phil recommended an excellent Italian restaurant for dinner - even making a reservation for us. His description was spot on - well cooked food, lots of atmosphere, friendly staff and very, very reasonable prices.
Breakfast at the Gum Tree was excellent with locally sourced produce and excellent choices. The home baked bread was delicious. We were lucky to extend our stay to a second night at this special place. Well done Phil and hope you enjoy your trip to England

Room Tip: All rooms are well equipped and clean. The bungalow on site is currently being renovated and re-des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlawsonmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This was our 2nd stay at The Gumtree. Phil and Linda are great hosts and friendly staff!
The children were able to play in the garden and not disturb the other guests. Breakfast was tasty and the warm freshly baked bread was the BEST. We stayed in for dinner most nights (as we travelled with small children) and Phil and Linda served us a variety of DELICIOUS dinners over our stay. They also offered us great advise on where to go and which attractions were suitable for the children.

Room Tip: We like room 4 as it has a 2nd bed (for tweeny) and space for a baby camp cot. It was not self cater...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeighCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

What a surprise to stumble upon this gem in South Africa! Aside from the warm greeting by Phil and his wife, we were most impressed by the meticulous care in which Phil takes with amenities and advice.

First off, we had the best Wi-Fi connection at this little guesthouse than in almost all of southern Africa (in part, I think, because of Phil's background in IT). We could make calls on our Wi-Fi connection via our phone to make arrangements, etc., where at other places the boasted "free Wi-Fi" was laughable.

Second, Phil steered us away from overpriced but cute looking restaurants nearby, and made us a reservation at a great little Italian place that had great pizza and other options. We really like people who are frank and give real opinions about things, rather than "Oh, everything's great!" Everything's not great, let's be honest.

Lastly, Phil hooked us up with a last-minute deal at a big hotel in Port Elizabeth, since we had an early-morning flight to Zimbabwe and no place to stay in between. What a sweet hotel! And they gave us an upgrade to one of the suites with an Eames lounge chair and lots of other things that shouldn't be in hotel rooms.

Anyway, the Gumtree is a terrific base for your stay in Oudtshoorn, and it's mostly because of the people who run it!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Phil and Linda are great hosts. The place is very nice and has a good location.
And i definitely should mentioning the breakfast. So many tasty thing there! Almost everything from local farmers. Great cheese! And also they make bread themslves.
Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We had a lovely warm welcome by Phil , and indeed a wonderful breakfast the next morning served in a lovely room . However clearly none of the above reviews were for the seperate cottage ... it can only be described as a tatty scruffy bedsit . the bathroom is in fact a shower room , and its a section of second (small bedroom ) cordoned off by sliding door that doesnt shut. Access to it is through second bedroom which is not ideal in the night if sleeping in lounge/kitchen/seating area. Definitely would not stay here again

Room Tip: DONT stay in the cottage , cannot comment on other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THC61, Owner at Gumtree Guest House, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Hallo J,

Thank you for your feedback - both the positive and the constructive.

For your information, work begins this Friday on the cottage bathroom which will be tiled, door fixed, etc. We will also do various additional upgrades on the cottage in the coming months which we believe will meet with the approval of our guests.

Your concerns are noted and we will do our best to address them all.

Thank you.

Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.9 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
300 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#3 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
547 reviews
0.3 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
Yotclub B&B
Yotclub B&B
#8 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumtree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumtree Guest House

Property: Gumtree Guest House
Address: 139 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gumtree Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gumtree Guest House is one of the finest in Oudtshoorn, overlooking the Grobbelaars River and the historic Suspension bridge. This guest house offers luxury and charm, in the shade of a century old giant gumtree. Close to town but with a beautiful view, many restaurants and attractions are within 5-10 minutes walking distance for guests. Our rooms offer the comforts of air conditioning, ceiling fans, hairdryers, toiletries, beverage packs, electric blankets, TVs, tea/coffee trays and minibar fridges. Each room has its own external entrance. Amenities available to guests include laundry services, Wifi and Internet Access, and telephone/fax facilities. We are fully licensed and offer a cosy bar which is ideal for pre-dinner cocktails or post-dinner nightcaps and features a fireplace on chilly winter nights as well as satellite television. Our breakfast features as much locally sourced produce as possible and we offer Continental and cooked breakfasts. Barbecue facilities are available near the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gumtree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gumtree Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing