We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best guesthouse of our SA vacation in 12 different guesthouses!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gumtree Guest House
Ranked #5 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best guesthouse of our SA vacation in 12 different guesthouses!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here 2 nights, too short. Beautiful environment and Phil and Linda are excellent hosts and give you lot of advice and make reservations for restaurants. They serve the best breakfast of all with lots of different things apart from the usual continental or english breakfast and FRESH! orange juice. We loved the bar near the open fire place and and discuss the happenings of the day with a beer or a glass of wine.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    106
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
135
304
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My wife, young son (6) and I stayed in the 2-bedroomed cottage which offers a good standard of accommodation including electric blankets, free wi-fi, complimentary tea/coffee, honesty mini-bars and two ensuite bathrooms.

The owners, Phil and Linda were a lovely couple with great recommendations of things to do and places to eat. The on-site bar is a great idea and an opportunity to share experiences and ideas with other guests.

The breakfasts were great with a mixture of buffet and hot food cooked to order, and really set you up for the day!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burgers98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights, wonderful places to explore Swartberg Pass awesome best in SA, Price Albert call back the past, Phil and Lynda two well traveled couple full of stories around the fire in their small pub met some nice people from around the world, will recommend

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I had a lovely stay at the Gumtree! Walked in last minute on saturday night and I was really happy that they instantly gave me a room and good advice as for where to have a great meal and where to go for some amazing experiences! In the end I stayed there for 4 nights as it was such a great place to be! Had a great time and I would certainly recommend it to anyone who is going in that direction.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichielSchinkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellville, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this lovely establishment. Rooms were spotless and hosts were friendly. Breakfast was great - so were the views from the table! The guest house is centrally located for those who want to explore the town of Oudtshoorn on foot.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Our family of 4 stayed in the 2-bedroomed cottage which was refurbished last year and offers a good standard of accommodation.

Despite the cold nights, we stayed warm and particularly welcomed the electric blankets. Both rooms have en-suite bathrooms, complimentary tea/coffee and operate an honesty mini-bar. The free wi-fi was reliable.

The accommodation is well located for walking safely to the many restaurants in town. Phil's restaurant recommendations worked perfectly for us. We enjoyed a pre-dinner drink and chat in Phil and Linda's bar too.

The breakfasts were great with a mixture of buffet and hot food cooked to order, and really set you up for the day. The ostrich wors are highly recommended!

Overall, I'd recommend this B&B which offers great value for money along with genuinely friendly hospitality.

Room Tip: The cottage is ideal for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandsy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liebefeld
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at the Gumtree Lodge and had a very nice, spacious and recently renovated room with a view towards the Grobbelaarsrivier. The deck in front of the room and the garden really invited to sit/relax outside. The nights where cold, but we sleept very well thaks to the electric blankets (and optional heating). In the evening Phil opens a small cozy Pub to the guest where we got a very good sherry (as tipicaly made in Oudtshoorn only i think). The breakfast by the way was the best we had in southafrica. Gumtree is also well located, close to many restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RioOriba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.9 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
532 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
519 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumtree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumtree Guest House

Property: Gumtree Guest House
Address: 139 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gumtree Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gumtree Guest House is one of the finest in Oudtshoorn, overlooking the Grobbelaars River and the historic Suspension bridge. This guest house offers luxury and charm, in the shade of a century old giant gumtree. Close to town but with a beautiful view, many restaurants and attractions are within 5-10 minutes walking distance for guests. Our rooms offer the comforts of air conditioning, ceiling fans, hairdryers, toiletries, beverage packs, electric blankets, TVs, tea/coffee trays and minibar fridges. Each room has its own external entrance. Amenities available to guests include laundry services, Wifi and Internet Access, and telephone/fax facilities. We are fully licensed and offer a cosy bar which is ideal for pre-dinner cocktails or post-dinner nightcaps and features a fireplace on chilly winter nights as well as satellite television. Our breakfast features as much locally sourced produce as possible and we offer Continental and cooked breakfasts. Barbecue facilities are available near the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gumtree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gumtree Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing