We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great welcome and great advice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gumtree Guest House
Ranked #5 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great welcome and great advice”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had a great time at Gumtree. Phil and his wife were exceptionally welcoming and offered us great advice on our holiday in South Africa, which was really helpful and their advice was spot on. They also made sure we had a great time in Oudtshoorn, giving restaurant advice and making sure we had the correct time for our meerkat tour. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carmie1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    106
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
135
304
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Towcester
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Excellently located and great value - would have liked a longer stay. The owners were friendly and welcoming and were able to advise on and book a local restaurant for dinner. Breakfast was also excellent with much local produce on offer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We went to Oudtshoorn to see the Ostriches and were very lucky to choose Gumtree Guest house for the night. The garden was so tranquil, the bedroom was spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was one of the best we had in our 3 week visit to South Africa! Lots of attention to detail!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed for two nights but could have stayed for longer. Great place wonderful location close to town but peaceful with lovely open views. Phil & Linda gave us a friendly warm welcome a real home away from home. The rooms were spacious clean and comfortable with everything you could possibly need. Phil & Linda were able to suggest places to visit and where to eat they are both very knowledgable on the area. Bufflesdrift game reserve nearby was a real highlight.
Breakfast great plenty of choice all freshly cooked with lots of localy sourced ingredients.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Gumtree is a really good place for staying in Oudtshoorn.
The breakfast is very good, the host a really nice man.
The rooms are spacious. Unfortunately the door to the bathroom isn't a stable one, so it is very wafer-thin.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verena U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarin Mauritius
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Fantastic stay at the Gumtree . Linda and Phil are lovely people and we really felt home. So welcoming. Everything was perfect and we definitely recommend this place. Daniel and Brigitte fm Mauritius.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brigitte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reutlingen, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We were only for one day at the Gumtree and it was great. It is a lovely place, nice rooms and pool and very friendly staff.
They made a reservation in a very nice restaurant for us and the breakfast was delicious.
Thank you for everything!
Many regards
Vera & Markus

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vera K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.9 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.3 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#3 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumtree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumtree Guest House

Property: Gumtree Guest House
Address: 139 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gumtree Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gumtree Guest House is one of the finest in Oudtshoorn, overlooking the Grobbelaars River and the historic Suspension bridge. This guest house offers luxury and charm, in the shade of a century old giant gumtree. Close to town but with a beautiful view, many restaurants and attractions are within 5-10 minutes walking distance for guests. Our rooms offer the comforts of air conditioning, ceiling fans, hairdryers, toiletries, beverage packs, electric blankets, TVs, tea/coffee trays and minibar fridges. Each room has its own external entrance. Amenities available to guests include laundry services, Wifi and Internet Access, and telephone/fax facilities. We are fully licensed and offer a cosy bar which is ideal for pre-dinner cocktails or post-dinner nightcaps and features a fireplace on chilly winter nights as well as satellite television. Our breakfast features as much locally sourced produce as possible and we offer Continental and cooked breakfasts. Barbecue facilities are available near the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Gumtree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gumtree Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing