We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gumtree Guest House
Ranked #5 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Beautiful place, nice quiet location, owners very friendly and helpful. Room immaculate, very clean and spacious, with lovely view of the garden. Lovely breakfast with lots of choice and local produce on the menu, food beautifully served. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britts24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    106
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
138
307
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Very friendly, lovely place, beautifull rooms, good breakfast, helped me a lot with my holiday planings...
I arrived late - and it was no problem.
Very good communication.
Nice place to visit the caves.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Matthias W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tsitsikamma National Park, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

What a wonderful stay. Beautiful gardens and comfortable rooms. Hosts very accommodating, Conveniently close by the KKNK for guests who want to visit the festival. Will definitely book there again next time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FranciKruger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strand, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We would like to extend our gratitude to Phil and Linda. Our stay at your guesthouse was wonderful. The garden / house and rooms are immaculate. We really wanted for nothing.
Breakfasts were super and the one night we had drinks next to the fire in the bar was awesome.
Thank you so much, I know we will never stay anywhere else in Oudtshoorn!

Room Tip: They all all so beautiful and in lovely positions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveHaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This was very nice escpecially situated for the KKNK I have nothing to moan about as evertythin was well equiped and look after and the personnel is also very friendly and the food was also very nice !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Great location, room, service and assistance. A second stand for suitcase would have been nice (his & hers). View from veranda was pastoral and no traffic noise. Central to main street, shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Donald & Gayle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and our hosts Phil and Linda were excellent. They clearly enjoy what they do and it shows in the quality of stay it creates. Great rooms, excellent breakfast with local produce carefully selected but most importantly for us the hosts were very engaging with everyone. Always full of really good advice on where to go, booked restaurants most of which are very walkable. Beyond that fantastic value for money. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.9 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
300 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#3 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
547 reviews
0.3 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
Yotclub B&B
Yotclub B&B
#8 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumtree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumtree Guest House

Property: Gumtree Guest House
Address: 139 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gumtree Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gumtree Guest House is one of the finest in Oudtshoorn, overlooking the Grobbelaars River and the historic Suspension bridge. This guest house offers luxury and charm, in the shade of a century old giant gumtree. Close to town but with a beautiful view, many restaurants and attractions are within 5-10 minutes walking distance for guests. Our rooms offer the comforts of air conditioning, ceiling fans, hairdryers, toiletries, beverage packs, electric blankets, TVs, tea/coffee trays and minibar fridges. Each room has its own external entrance. Amenities available to guests include laundry services, Wifi and Internet Access, and telephone/fax facilities. We are fully licensed and offer a cosy bar which is ideal for pre-dinner cocktails or post-dinner nightcaps and features a fireplace on chilly winter nights as well as satellite television. Our breakfast features as much locally sourced produce as possible and we offer Continental and cooked breakfasts. Barbecue facilities are available near the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gumtree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gumtree Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing