We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gumtree Guest House
Ranked #4 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

One of the best places I have ever stayed at. Warm welcome and excellent service from the owners. We stayed in the cottage and it was absolutely stunning. The rooms are beautifully decorated. And the breakfast was awesome! Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Karina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    106
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
136
305
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We only stayed here one night but we loved the place and wished we could have stayed longer.
The breakfast was the best we had on our trip through South Africa with lots ot local produce and the rooms was quiet and spacious with everything you need and very helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Takemeaway01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the stay in very clean and neat rooms. The breakfast was a real surprise. From fruit, yogurt, cereal, local cheese and condiments to a choice of a hot breakfast. Owners are very friendly and keen to help. We enjoyed the stay and will be back.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlettaTheron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We were in Oudtshoorn for a wedding and enjoyed a very pleasant 3 night stay together with our daughter. Our rooms were of a similar quality, large and very comfortable with a verandah running along the outside overlooking the pool area. A delicious breakfast was served each day and a bar was available in the evenings.The B&B is within easy walking distance to the shops and restaurants and we would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EileenG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We really cannot fault this B&B. The rooms were large and clean with good facilities including a fridge. The owners were exceptionally friendly and helpful giving us info on where was good to eat out on the Sunday night with the town being a short safe walk to the eateries on the main street.
The breakfasts were awesome and Phil the owner goes the extra mile by offering all local products such as cheeses and meats etc. The cooked breakfasts are tasty and well presented
I really like the little bar which is run by the owners and we had a good craic with them as well as other guests staying.
Our only regret is that we only had 1 night here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TivertonPritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights - significantly longer than the average stay...............as there is so much to do in the area and Phil certainly was immensely helpful advising on activities, restaurants and trips. (I wish I hadn't spent time researching in advance as he had lots of local, relevant information.). We stayed in "the cottage" - this is 2 interconnecting spacious double ensuite rooms. The showers are large & good décor. One of the bedrooms has a basic kitchen set up plus a sofa. This was ideal for us as a family of 5; our youngest being comfortable on the sofa. The location is handy for local restaurants & trips. We felt safe here and slept well. We were made to feel very welcome & also invited to use the communal bbq by the pool. The breakfasts were also lovely - particularly the fruit salad. Thank you Phil & Linda for being such good hosts.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huw R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westonaria
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A warm friendly welcom. The host very helpful.The room clean with everything needed. Breakfast 5 star. Garden well looked after. Pool and deck area have a great view over the hang bridge. Will be back next year same time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.9 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#3 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
539 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yotclub B&B
Yotclub B&B
#6 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumtree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumtree Guest House

Property: Gumtree Guest House
Address: 139 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gumtree Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gumtree Guest House is one of the finest in Oudtshoorn, overlooking the Grobbelaars River and the historic Suspension bridge. This guest house offers luxury and charm, in the shade of a century old giant gumtree. Close to town but with a beautiful view, many restaurants and attractions are within 5-10 minutes walking distance for guests. Our rooms offer the comforts of air conditioning, ceiling fans, hairdryers, toiletries, beverage packs, electric blankets, TVs, tea/coffee trays and minibar fridges. Each room has its own external entrance. Amenities available to guests include laundry services, Wifi and Internet Access, and telephone/fax facilities. We are fully licensed and offer a cosy bar which is ideal for pre-dinner cocktails or post-dinner nightcaps and features a fireplace on chilly winter nights as well as satellite television. Our breakfast features as much locally sourced produce as possible and we offer Continental and cooked breakfasts. Barbecue facilities are available near the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gumtree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gumtree Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing