We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gumtree Guest House
Ranked #4 of 78 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I spent an unscheduled stop in Oudtshoorn and by chance found the lovely Gumtree B&B and its delightful owners Phil and Linda. They made me so welcome with very warm hospitality. My room was very well appointed, cosy and warm on a cold Karoo winter night. They even have electric blankets! Everything was immaculate and the breakfast was delicious. A great little Guest House, highly recommend it!
Evelyn. Johannesburg

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Country House C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

We enjoyed our visit at gumtree a lot, because of the warm welcome, the nice rooms, the wonderful breakfast with food from the region, the excellent location, the very good service and helpful information provided by Phil and Linda.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a superb BnB located in the centre of Oudtshoorn with walking distance to a host of restaurants The rooms are top class and excellent value for money Host gets 5star rating for making one welcome Will definitely go back Good idea to book in advance as this is a popular place

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

One of the best places I have ever stayed at. Warm welcome and excellent service from the owners. We stayed in the cottage and it was absolutely stunning. The rooms are beautifully decorated. And the breakfast was awesome! Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Karina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We only stayed here one night but we loved the place and wished we could have stayed longer.
The breakfast was the best we had on our trip through South Africa with lots ot local produce and the rooms was quiet and spacious with everything you need and very helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Takemeaway01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the stay in very clean and neat rooms. The breakfast was a real surprise. From fruit, yogurt, cereal, local cheese and condiments to a choice of a hot breakfast. Owners are very friendly and keen to help. We enjoyed the stay and will be back.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank AlettaTheron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We were in Oudtshoorn for a wedding and enjoyed a very pleasant 3 night stay together with our daughter. Our rooms were of a similar quality, large and very comfortable with a verandah running along the outside overlooking the pool area. A delicious breakfast was served each day and a bar was available in the evenings.The B&B is within easy walking distance to the shops and restaurants and we would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EileenG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.9 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
505 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
0.4 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#3 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
567 reviews
0.3 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
Yotclub B&B
Yotclub B&B
#10 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumtree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumtree Guest House

Address: 139 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £52 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gumtree Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gumtree Guest House is one of the finest in Oudtshoorn, overlooking the Grobbelaars River and the historic Suspension bridge. This guest house offers luxury and charm, in the shade of a century old giant gumtree. Close to town but with a beautiful view, many restaurants and attractions are within 5-10 minutes walking distance for guests. Our rooms offer the comforts of air conditioning, ceiling fans, hairdryers, toiletries, beverage packs, electric blankets, TVs, tea/coffee trays and minibar fridges. Each room has its own external entrance. Amenities available to guests include laundry services, Wifi and Internet Access, and telephone/fax facilities. We are fully licensed and offer a cosy bar which is ideal for pre-dinner cocktails or post-dinner nightcaps and features a fireplace on chilly winter nights as well as satellite television. Our breakfast features as much locally sourced produce as possible and we offer Continental and cooked breakfasts. Barbecue facilities are available near the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gumtree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gumtree Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing