We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding, a real gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding, a real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We called up rather randomly from an advert in a brochure a couple of hours beforehand and stayed just one night in 'Emma's Cottage'. What a treat! A truly beautiful place, the warmest of welcomes, service with a smile and the finest food of the holiday. My wife discussed cooking with our hostess (and went away with the recipe and a bottle of dressing!) and we all discussed ostrich farming!

We travel a lot and this place really was very special. Beats our home town (Paris) on every count. Its finding places like this that make for great holiday memories.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy190745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    16
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
81
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

This is a quiet rural farmhouse establishment; it is relaxed and peaceful with a genuine Afrikaans welcome from Kobus & Elmare who are the most welcoming of hosts. Both the breakfast and the evening meal were fantastic and highly recommended. Be advised they don't keep ostriches any more, but this is a minor consideration when taking the entire experience into account.

Thank you for your hospitality!
David, Trish & Pippa

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
139 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

... in this wonderful place. Great food, great room, and amazing views. Ideal if you'e looking for a quiet place to stay and if you like nature - with all the comfort. Rooms are tastefully decorated with lots of little details.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

What a bonanza. We came to this mansion because another one where we wanted to stay was booked out. We were welcomed with warm hospitality. Our house in the backyard was great, rooms were spacious. The outlook with the mountains in the background was phantastic. Sitting in total peace under the tree was like paradise. Dinner and breakfeast were rich and delicious. The hosts even had time for an open-minded chat about the country and its future. It was a pity that we could not spend at least one more night.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreasElepfandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

We had not booked this accommodation but when we arrived we were lucky to get a room. Emmas cottage.Our hostess was very welcoming , offered us dinner which was wonderdul.
We could not stay for breakfast as we needed to leave early but I am sure we missed a treat.
This place was luxury and nothing was too much trouble. I really recommend it. We found it in the Portfolio collection of accommodation.

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong in this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hedleyhouse63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

This was my idea of paradise. Wonderful hospitality, beautiful setting, fabulous food. The four of us stayed in a lovely house across the river from the main buildings. The rooms were immaculate with lots of nice touches and the setting divine. Kobus even ferried us backwards and forwards for dinner. Dinner was superb - certainly the best Ostrich steak I have ever had and the ambience was very relaxing.Breakfast out on the verandah was something else with plenty of delicious food. We were slightly disappointed the find that most of the Ostriches had been culled because of Avian flu. Nontheless Kobus took us out to see those that remained and we had a fascinating session with him discussing Ostrichs while feeding the birds. one thing to be aware of is that this accommodation is about 30k out of Oudtshoorn. We had not realised this and so arrived later than we were intending after quite and exhausting day.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GazT007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Peninsula National Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

Being in the hospitallity industrie myself ( guesthouse in Simon's Town), we often trie out other establishments.
I would sincerely recommend this establishment as being one of the absolute top places I have ever stayed in. Hosts,staff,accommodation,food, attention to every smallest detail. Dinner and breakfast were far better than we could ever have imagened . The best ostrich steak I had in my life. Keep up the good work. Perfect job very well done.
I travelled with my brother from Holland and sister from Paarl exploring the Karoo.
All 3 of us came to the same conclusion " Rietfontijn is top of the list" we were surprised to see that they were only 4 star. We all felt that we were treated with genuine warmth and hospitality not often found.

Room Tip: 5 star value and treatment in a 4 star establishment charging 3 star prices. Highly recommended be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise and Dirk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
19.3 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
16.7 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
19.1 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#6 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
19.1 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
34.8 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#8 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rietfontein Ostrich Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rietfontein Ostrich Palace

Property: Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Address: On Route 62 | between Oudtshoorn & Calitzdorp, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rietfontein Ostrich Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The World's Oldest Working Ostrich Farm established in 1879, offers you 4 Star (TGCSA graded)and AA Superior accommodation in restored farm cottages.Restaurant offers you local and ostrich cuisine.Daily guided ostrich tours. Birder's paradise.Explore the Cango Caves, drive over the Majestic Swartberg Mountains to the little town of Prince Albert back to Rietfontein via Meiringspoort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rietfontein Ostrich Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing