We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great stay at the Ostrich Palace” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rietfontein Ostrich Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A great stay at the Ostrich Palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Rietfontein Ostrich Palace. The antique building and its setting were both beautiful, and our enormous room with luxurious en suite was really comfortable. Dinner and breakfast, prepared by our attentive hostess, were memorably delicious.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 42peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    15
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
76
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Travelling from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth we wanted to visit an ostrich farm and chose the Rietfontein Ostrich Palace from the portfolio collection website. Be aware that you won't see any ostriches on the farm anymore but you have to visit this gem of a holiday place. The sign on the road might not look like much to expect but once we arrived we were immediately amazed by the beautiful setting of the farm.
Elmaree (lady of the house) greeted us very friendly and we immediately used the huge! open pool at the edge of the hill with amazing views over the valley. You think you are in heaven!
And our little cottage was gorgeously appointed and the towels are the most comfiest towels you will ever use.
And then dinner.... What to say but that this was the most delicious 3 course meal we had since starting our SA journey. We could choose between ostrich or beef steak - we had ostrich - and the rest was all chosen by Elmaree who is also the chef on the farm. It was fantastic!!
We will definitely come back and if you read through the guest book in the cottage then you will see that this little gem has loads of fans already.
Thanks Kobus for the lovely Ostrich tour!!

Room Tip: Book in advance and ask for Emma's cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

It was a great place for a short stay. We used this as a stop of between the safari and Cape Town and when we had to leave we were very reluctant. The room was fantastic and was very large (best described as a cottage). Very old fashioned cottage which was nice. It had a lot of great details such as the beeswax coated wood on the floor. It had good furniture, open fire etc. Dinner was amazing, five courses, it was great to try ostrich which tasted good. The owners were very welcoming. Breakfast was as good if not better. Great variety. We had a tour of the ostrich farm which was very interesting. Great atmosphere. But limited facilities. Great for a short stay. Would definitely recommend for a good stopover or a few days stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed_Whi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We called up rather randomly from an advert in a brochure a couple of hours beforehand and stayed just one night in 'Emma's Cottage'. What a treat! A truly beautiful place, the warmest of welcomes, service with a smile and the finest food of the holiday. My wife discussed cooking with our hostess (and went away with the recipe and a bottle of dressing!) and we all discussed ostrich farming!

We travel a lot and this place really was very special. Beats our home town (Paris) on every count. Its finding places like this that make for great holiday memories.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy190745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

This is a quiet rural farmhouse establishment; it is relaxed and peaceful with a genuine Afrikaans welcome from Kobus & Elmare who are the most welcoming of hosts. Both the breakfast and the evening meal were fantastic and highly recommended. Be advised they don't keep ostriches any more, but this is a minor consideration when taking the entire experience into account.

Thank you for your hospitality!
David, Trish & Pippa

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
137 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

... in this wonderful place. Great food, great room, and amazing views. Ideal if you'e looking for a quiet place to stay and if you like nature - with all the comfort. Rooms are tastefully decorated with lots of little details.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

What a bonanza. We came to this mansion because another one where we wanted to stay was booked out. We were welcomed with warm hospitality. Our house in the backyard was great, rooms were spacious. The outlook with the mountains in the background was phantastic. Sitting in total peace under the tree was like paradise. Dinner and breakfeast were rich and delicious. The hosts even had time for an open-minded chat about the country and its future. It was a pity that we could not spend at least one more night.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreasElepfandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
19.1 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
16.7 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
2.7 mi away
Red Stone Hills
Red Stone Hills
#9 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.8 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#7 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
17.5 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#6 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
31.0 mi away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#1 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rietfontein Ostrich Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rietfontein Ostrich Palace

Property: Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Address: On Route 62 | between Oudtshoorn & Calitzdorp, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rietfontein Ostrich Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The World's Oldest Working Ostrich Farm established in 1879, offers you 4 Star (TGCSA graded)and AA Superior accommodation in restored farm cottages.Restaurant offers you local and ostrich cuisine.Daily guided ostrich tours. Birder's paradise.Explore the Cango Caves, drive over the Majestic Swartberg Mountains to the little town of Prince Albert back to Rietfontein via Meiringspoort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rietfontein Ostrich Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing