We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rietfontein Ostrich Palace a Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Elmare and Kobus. Great food, excellent South African hospitality, interesting history of the property. Very clean beautiful and comfortable accommodations. We stayed one night on this trip and will definitely come back to spend more time exploring the area between Oudtshoorn and Calitzdorp in the future. Thank you again to our excellent hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Location ensures tranquility and beautiful scenery, accommodation excellent with a bed that ensured a good nights rest.....if you know your cabinet making then some wonderful examples of furniture to view, best of all was the friendly hosts and an evening meal that was simply delicious......food quality excellent, well cooked and well presented....nearly forgot and a very friendly old girl (Golden Lab) to wish you hello on arrival and good morning as the sun comes up.

Room Tip: Ask for Emma's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We were one night there. Wonderful place, very nice and clean rooms, very friendly people. We got dinner, of course ostrich fillet. Was one of the best dinners in South Africa. Very interesting tour over the ostrich farm with the farmer himself.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sylvia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights during our south africa garden route trip. The Rietfontain ostrich palace is one of the very best guest houses we have ever seen. Very fine hosts, excellent (best!!!) kitchen and accomodation! An outstanding place with a great panoramic view. Many thanks to Kobus and Elmarie. We are looking forward to see you again, Marcus & Maren

Unser Tipp: unbedingt hin

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Wonderful place and Kobus and Elmarie are looking after you more than guests. We will certainly come back in this farm
Very nice country food in this ostrich farm

Ariane and John from Geneva Switzerland

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Johnweyeneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Great landscape, wonderfull apartements, delicious breakfast and dinner. We felt very well, it was a good, warm athmosphere. The owners did the very very best for us. We recommend the the austrich tour.
Really great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank blankenberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed here for 3 days in January. Upon arrival we were friendly greeted by madam Elmare, a friendly host who isn’t afraid to go the extra mile for her guests. The cottage we booked, the Ostrich nest, is located on a secluded and quiet site which is about a 5 min. drive from the owner’s house and restaurant. The Hoepoe units are also located there. (Only Emma’s cottage is directly located next to the owners house and restaurant.) For us this short drive was no problem at al. Mister Kobus, madam Elmare's husband, offered to pick us up for having dinner and bring us back to the cottage, as a service, which we appreciated.
We enjoyed the food and wine in the restaurant. Cooked breakfast was excellent and of a remarkable high standard. Swimming pool was great, and offers excellent scenic views of the hinterland.
At the moment we were there, there were only a few ostriches left on the farm. Apparently this had to do with regulations following the bird flu in 2011. We took the farm tour with mister Kobus and were explained everything about ostrich keeping. The tour, about 1 hours, was very interesting, though just a little bit overpriced.
The cottage was kept very well clean and is authentically furnished and decorated. The cottage is equipped with everything you need (hairdryer, coffee & tea making facilities, bathrobes etc.). The only slight problems we encountered in the room was that the bed was a bit small and the ceiling fan was quite noisy and needed some fixing. One other slight detail was the fact that there are no shutters for the windows, making us city dwellers feel a bit unsafe at night with opened windows. But the owner assured us that this is a very safe area and the beautiful garden with its flowers and birds and amazing starry sky viewed at night from the veranda made well up for this.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravlerXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
19.3 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
501 reviews
21.9 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
910 reviews
16.7 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.2 mi away
Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge
17.5 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#7 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
345 reviews
22.6 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rietfontein Ostrich Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rietfontein Ostrich Palace

Address: On Route 62 | between Oudtshoorn & Calitzdorp, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £72 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rietfontein Ostrich Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The World's Oldest Working Ostrich Farm established in 1879, offers you 4 Star (TGCSA graded)and AA Superior accommodation in restored farm cottages.Restaurant offers you local and ostrich cuisine.Daily guided ostrich tours. Birder's paradise.Explore the Cango Caves, drive over the Majestic Swartberg Mountains to the little town of Prince Albert back to Rietfontein via Meiringspoort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Rietfontein Ostrich Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing