We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely lovely and beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely lovely and beautiful”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at the Emma cottage and it did not disappoint. The location is beautiful, everyone was very friendly, the food was amazing. The only problem was that we could only stay one night; we'd love to go back for a few more nights and really relax.

We had dinner there and went on the private ostrich tour; and both were great value and really enjoyable.

The ROP is homely, and relaxing. We'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pezz361356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    16
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
84
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garden Route, South Africa
Level Contributor
427 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Kobus and Elmarie were amazing, and were very attentive. Their attention to detail is what makes Rietfontein Ostrich Palace stand out above the rest. Our room was extremely comfortable, and the furnishings were very much in keeping with the place. The beds were comfortable and warm, and there were even hot water bottles also available! A lovely quiet place in the Karoo. We enjoyed their breakfasts with freshly made crumpets with maple syrup, nuts and berries.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m0zchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelbach
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Rietfontein Ostrich Palace is a small hotel offering charming rooms which are nicely decorated and very clean. The personal and individual service by the owners is really great. Elmare's dinner was delicious and Kobus gave us on the farm tour plenty of information not only about ostriches but also about the economical situation of ostrich farming. Higly recommended to attend!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Beate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I recently got married at Rietfontein. Elmarie went the extra mile to ensure everything was JUST like I wanted it! Everything was amazing. The food, the rooms, the scenery, Elmarie and her staff! Would recommend to others looking for unique Karroo wedding! It was so "real" , relaxed, tranquil and naturally beautiful.Everyone keeps complimenting me on our superb choice of venue...all thanks to Rietfontein for a fab wedding!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrubymuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlinsbach, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

One of the best Guest House we ever visited in SA and we have stayed in quite many so far. Very friendly service, top quality meals. The whole team does their jobs with dedication and love. That is a very pleasant feeling for the guests. Also the very nicely restored farm houses make it a top Guest House on the way from Sedgefield to Cape Town. The only thing we missed were the ostriches.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Turi_Yvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamuela
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Elmare and Kobus. Great food, excellent South African hospitality, interesting history of the property. Very clean beautiful and comfortable accommodations. We stayed one night on this trip and will definitely come back to spend more time exploring the area between Oudtshoorn and Calitzdorp in the future. Thank you again to our excellent hosts.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Location ensures tranquility and beautiful scenery, accommodation excellent with a bed that ensured a good nights rest.....if you know your cabinet making then some wonderful examples of furniture to view, best of all was the friendly hosts and an evening meal that was simply delicious......food quality excellent, well cooked and well presented....nearly forgot and a very friendly old girl (Golden Lab) to wish you hello on arrival and good morning as the sun comes up.

Room Tip: Ask for Emma's
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
19.3 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
16.7 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
19.1 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#8 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
19.1 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
34.8 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#7 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rietfontein Ostrich Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rietfontein Ostrich Palace

Property: Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Address: On Route 62 | between Oudtshoorn & Calitzdorp, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rietfontein Ostrich Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The World's Oldest Working Ostrich Farm established in 1879, offers you 4 Star (TGCSA graded)and AA Superior accommodation in restored farm cottages.Restaurant offers you local and ostrich cuisine.Daily guided ostrich tours. Birder's paradise.Explore the Cango Caves, drive over the Majestic Swartberg Mountains to the little town of Prince Albert back to Rietfontein via Meiringspoort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Rietfontein Ostrich Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing