We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plush, opulent and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Terra Bianca Guest House
Ranked #30 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Plush, opulent and relaxing”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Terra Bianca is an absolute jewel!

The rooms at Terra Bianca are situated at the back of the property, separate from the main house. Apart from providing excellent privacy, it also gives the best view of the tranquil rural landscape.

The rooms are very spacious and well laid out. Good quality finishes were used throughout - in line with upper class hotels.

Tasteful but opulent decorations complement the overall feeling of luxury.

Morkel is an excellent host.

I would highly recommend Terra Bianca

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    23
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
58
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I wish we stayed longer! Morkel is an attentive host and made us feel so welcome. We arrived early evening and once we set our bags in our room we were invited for a welcome drink with our host and partner. It was so special for us and after some wonderful conversation he made a call and we were picked up for dinner at Su Casa (a must by the way, have the lamb). The next day we were set to go the the ostrich farm and Corey made a recommendation and even called ahead to one of the tour guides that he was friendly with to let them know we were coming. So nice. We had a great time and we were sorry we didn't spend more time in the city or more time with Morkel and Corey. I also cannot forget to mention the 5 little Terrier princesses that filled our puppy void while being away from our dogs. Thank you Morkel and Corey! We will return! J&J

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Terra Bianca is a little slice of heavenly peace and beauty surrounded by the most spectacular views of the mountains around Oudtshoorn! The rooms are spaceous and beautifully furnished with a dash of modern and a touch of the host, Morkel Mulders, own personal passion for art. The area is quiet and within easy access to the main streets of Oudtshoorn (about 15-20 min walk). Our stay was a pleasure which was hightened by a romance created through colourful gardens, fountains, statues and lighting. We enjoyed most the breakfasts in the main house and the company of our host who is very knowledgable of the history of the town and the spectacular sights in the surrounding area. We will definitely recommend Terra Bianca, not only as an overnight to further travels, but certainly for a momentary repose to take in the beauty of the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sonja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

A wonderful host! He is attentive and makes you feel more than welcome. There are just a few things that is lacking! For example, there is no TV in the room, now i know that this is not a requirement, but it is nice to lay in bed every now and then and watch TV until you fall asleep and cuddle! Maybe also look into a mini bar fridge in the room as it gets really hot there and it would be nice to be able to keep your drinks cold.
When you arrive there really isnt an enterance that tells you were you need to go, so you kind of wonder around hoping that you knock on the right door!

There is so much potential, once the smalls things are corrected! I wish him all the luck in the future!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chantille B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We made a decision to get off the Garden Route and see a scenic track more inland. Oudtshoorn was recommended and on our way we were able to take in a visit to an ostrich farm. We carried on to see the Swartberg pass, a gravel "road" up and down a steep mountain...not for the faint-hearted, but the return route was scenic and an easier drive. Morkel welcome us in his house. You can tell he has put a lot of effort into making the place contemporary and welcoming. He even offered to have us join him for a glass of wine before dinner. Our room was well-appointed. It was a hot evening and air conditioning would have been nice. Without screens we were hesitant to open up for possible mosquitoes. In the morning we had a wonderful cooked breakfast...one of the nicest of our two weeks in South Africa. Morkel is still updating and upgrading things, but I am sure Terra Bianca will be a great place for people visiting Oudtshoorn in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank cdbunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanzimtoti, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I have a lot to say but only allowed few characters. So my short and sweet version....AMAZING,WELCOMING,FRIENDLY and BEAUTIFUL. I would most definitely recommend TERRA BIANCA for a break away relaxation. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank qamkeown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here as an overnight stop off on a drive from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth when we wanted to visit the Cango Caves. The proprietor Morkel is super friendly, and was very welcoming and made sure we felt at home immediately. He gave us a range of menus for nearby restaurants, some recommendations and even rang up and booked the reservation for us. Add to this the immaculate room, nice view,friendly welcome drinks and home cooked breakfast in the morning, this felt more like staying with a family friend than a traditional bed and breakfast or guest house. He has a gorgeous garden and four very friendly terriers who will welcome you as well, (so if you are adverse to small dogs wanting their tummy tickled then maybe this may not suit you as much as it did us). There was no internet in our room, but to be honest we were both so pleased to be off the grid that we didn't ask about it and i'm sure there will be access in the main house should you require it.

All in all, for the price paid I cannot think of anywhere nicer to stay if you are visiting this area for either the caves or the numerous Ostrich farms in the surrounding region. Was a pleasure to stay here and will certainly be recommending it to anyone who wishes to stay in this area in the future. Thank you Morkel for our amazing stay and making us feel so welcome!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.7 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
296 reviews
0.9 mi away
Karoo Sun Guesthouse
Karoo Sun Guesthouse
#15 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
100 reviews
4.9 mi away
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
#7 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
8.7 mi away
Oue Werf Guesthouse
Oue Werf Guesthouse
#22 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
122 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terra Bianca Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terra Bianca Guest House

Property: Terra Bianca Guest House
Address: 10 Taute Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Terra Bianca Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terra Bianca rests on the banks of the Grobbelaars River, overlooking Oudtshoorn and the majestic Swartberg Mountains. This establishment offers visitors one of the most spectacular views of Oudtshoorn and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Terra Bianca Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing