We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This B&B is just amaaaaaaaaaaazing!!!”
Review of Earthbound B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Earthbound B&B
Ranked #3 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
As, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This B&B is just amaaaaaaaaaaazing!!!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The B&B is really amazing. What a nice and warm welcome at our arrival. The rooms are really beautiful and there has been thought of every small detail. That's what it makes really amazing. We even have booked a second night, because we enjoyed the quietness and relaxing by the pool. Great tips to eat and visiting the ostriches. Breakfast was very good!

Room Tip: don't hesitate, just book this b&b!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greekvatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basjan2, Owner at Earthbound B&B, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi,
Hope you are well?
Thank you so much for your lovely review that you have done for Earthbound B&B. We are glad that you were happy with all our efforts. Hope to perhaps see you one day again.
Regards from a VERY HOT HOT Oudtshoorn. (swimmingpool warm as well!!)
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    75
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
73
367
21
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed in Earthbound B&B for one night on our trip from Karoo NP to Route 62. The B&B is situated little bit out of town (20 minute walk). Reception by the owner was great (very gentle people ánd personnel), room has everything you need (TV, wifi, welcome drink, information about surroundings, etc.) and is quite cheap (we paid about 35 euro for 1 night, including breafast, which was great!). The B&B has a beautiful pool and garden.

Activities:
- Definitely drive along the Swartberg Pass! Views are stunning, if you want to hike, get yourself a permit in Oudtshoorn
- Visit the nearby waterfall. Unfortunately, we arrived after closing time, but we saw some enormous tortoises!!

Room Tip: We had room 1, which has a private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jens C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basjan2, Owner at Earthbound B&B, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hi Jens,

Hope all is well and that your trip to South Africa was great. Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. it does our hearts good to get rewies like your.
Keep well and have a blessed year onwards.

Regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Wolfgang, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

After our third visit we still would like to say it is one of the best and also this year we did not regret coming back.
The owner and the staff always are trying to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basjan2, Owner at Earthbound B&B, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hi Eva and Charly,

Thank you very much for taking the time to do a review on Tripadvisor. Hope that we will have you around in 2015 again. Godd bless!

Marie and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We had a great stay in Earthbound. The room is very Nice and have good facilities. Breakfast was brought in a picknick basket. We enjoyed the afternoon in the swimmingpool. Friendly owners and good quit location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tass29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basjan2, Owner at Earthbound B&B, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Hi Hilary,

Thank you so much for your lovey rewiew. It does our harts so good to see that there are people that appreciate the effort we put into our B&B to make their stay enjoyable. Hope to see you soon in the near future.
Keep well and kind regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed sadly for only one night, but, wow what a place! Lovely owner Marie was friendly and helpful and immediately made us feel welcome. Her artistic flair is evident everywhere in the rooms and throughout the amazing garden with lots of interesting touches. Her attention to detail is sublime and if I could have rated more highly I would! Breakfast is brought to your individual eating area all wrapped up in a picnic basket which was a nice touch. From arrival to departure you feel pampered. Was sorry not staying longer, but would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilary_crosby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basjan2, Owner at Earthbound B&B, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Hi Hilary,

Thank you so much for your lovey rewiew. It does our harts so good to see that there are people that appreciate the effort we put into our B&B to make their stay enjoyable. Hope to see you soon in the near future.
Keep well and kind regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Earthbound is a very comfortable B&B, and the owner has put a lot of effort into the decor (although at times it feels a little too much!)

The room was clean and very well supplied with all features you could expect from a B&B. The gardens are beautiful and very well tended.

It is fairly centrally located for the centre of Oudtshoorn (15 minute walk) and the surrounding area.

The only small complaint I would make is regarding the neighbour's dog(s). They were constantly barking from about 5am. However, this was mentioned to the owner who informed us that it was being dealt with. I hope this can be sorted as it was the only fly in the ointment.

Despite that, I would still recommend this as a great place to stay in Oudtshoorn

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tel29767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basjan2, Owner at Earthbound B&B, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Hi You all,

Hope all is well and that your trip onwards was very nice. Thank you for the review. I am still busy dealing with the authorities about the dogs. I am sure I will win this problem.

Kind regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Nice place! 10 points for all. Excelent service, location, rooms, pool, parking place. All is clean and is beautiful, also Caro is there! She is helpful, very friendly, we hope to return to Oudtshoorn.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nicoleaga33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basjan2, Owner at Earthbound B&B, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hi,

Thank you for the 10 points on evrything! And the photos!
Hope to see you soon again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.5 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
485 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
1.1 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
559 reviews
1.0 mi away
Yotclub B&B
Yotclub B&B
#8 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
463 reviews
9.8 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earthbound B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earthbound B&B

Property: Earthbound B&B
Address: 19 Naude Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Earthbound B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming bed and breakfast is located in Oudtshoorn's peaceful countryside. It is set in a tropical garden and offers an outdoor salt swimming pool for relaxation. The air-conditioned rooms at Earthbound B&B are bright, modern and with wooden flooring. They include a flat-screen TV and a kitchenette with a microwave, small fridge and coffee/tea making facilities. Bathrooms come with signature toiletries. Breakfast is continental and if you desire anything else, this could be done by arrangement. Earthbound is close for visiting the famous Cango Caves (3okm) and Swartberg Pass. Other places to visit are the Cango Wildlife Range, Buffelsdrift Game farm, Ostrich farms, Surval Estate, Museums and Meerkat Magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Earthbound B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing