We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time”
Review of Nostalgie

Nostalgie
Ranked #1 of 46 Restaurants in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Bath
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Quite unique. Step back in time about 70 years and eat some great food in some of the most amazing surroundings.

We had dinner on a cold winter's evening and sat inside in what I can only describe as a 1930's or 1940's front parlour complete with old LPs as place mats. We visited with a 12 year old and a 15 year old and both both loved it.

Make sure that you visit the outside toilets but take a torch at night!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris_R_Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    169
    51
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Adorable! Must eat here~”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

A place I'll definitely go back if I could~!

Food: Amazing quality food! We both had crepes with different fillings. The crepes where thin and light, and the fillings were delicious! The sides dishes were equally amazing! Everything we had were excellent, including the home-made lemonade, so refreshing!

Service: Friendly and attentive. The waitress was very nice and even put the ice cream we bought in their fridge~ (I'm sure that's a very weird request hihi~)

Value: For the quality, the quantity and the ambience, definitely worth it~

Atmosphere: There are some indoor tables and many outdoor seating. The décor is so cute and romantic, making it very cozy~ The dishes were served on old-style discs. I can sit here for hours! Located on the main street, easily accessible.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelEatSmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oudtshoorn
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Nostalgie, is one of those places a person goes back to time and again. That speaks for itself so not going to harp on the fact that it has a lovely atmosphere, that the food is always good and that its priced just right. One word describes it. MAGIC!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank A-1YotclubBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Wow, what a restaurant! I took a chance on this place after finding it on TripAdvisor, and thank God I did. It's an unusual place when you first walk in, like stepping into an old fashioned convenience store with wood counters and glass jars, then walking through into the store owners front room. But it's so comfortable and the food is amazing. Again, the waitress couldn't do enough to help. My partner and I had three courses each (so big I didn't manage to eat everything on my plate, but I wanted to!) with coffee (one of them with liquor), a bottle of wine and water, and all for less than the equivalent of £21 in total. For the quality, quantity and ambience of this lovely place I'd have paid five times more. Nostalgie, please please please open a place in the UK! Thank you so much for a truly lovely meal and experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs_W_01032017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dining on main street.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Great find. Excellent food, reasonably priced and homely setting (We sat in the garden). Service was a little slow although there was only one waitress roaming about. Would I go back... YES!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 602allanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nostalgie also viewed

 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Nostalgie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing