We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, brilliant fun.”

Swartberg Mountain Tours
2 reviews
“Excellent, brilliant fun.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Had an absolutely fantastic impromptu tour. Tour guide spots all kinds of animals and has a vast knowledge of animals, landscapes and South African history. The vehicles are good too! Certainly good value for money. I would highly recommend this for anyone. Variety of tours to suit all budgets and interests.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teatea66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
“Don't just visit Oudtshoorn, dive into the mountains!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

There's only one way to discover Swartberg mountain and that's with Roeland. We did the tour with our two boys (10, 12 years old), and they also loved it. He makes a stop wherever you want, depending on your interests, tells you everything about the flora and fauna, or everything you want to know about South Africa. We learned a lot about geology, and we saw lots of animals. We did the same trip already on our own, but now we know you miss a lot that way.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank an c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Take this tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

If you are in the region, leave your car and take a guided tour with Roeland. We did the circular tour from Oudtshoorn to Prince Albert with the Cango caves and a swim in the waterfalls on the way and absolutely loved it. In theory, this can be done by car on your own but without someone to explain the flora and fauna and the incredible mountain formations you would be missing out. Roeland is passionate about the area and his enthusiasm is catching. One of our group called it "food for the soul" A lovely and memorable day.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank bo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Relax and Escape!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Book Roeland and you will not be disappointed!
We did 2 long private trips on consecutive days and were very impressed.
We had time to stop wherever, we could choose to sit inside or outside the vehicle and the scenery was stunning.
The waterfalls, sunbirds, caves, Prince Albert, wine tasting, the Gamkadam and the gorge were super.
This must be repeated!
Well done!

Helpful?
Thank EJC0551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Joyride down Swartberg pass”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

An experience of a lifetime! Beautiful views, but a sore bum the next day. Well run by Backpackers Lodge, all equipment included, just watch out for crazy South African motorists once you get onto the main road. Only the first 10km's is downhill, the other 44km's are gentle slopes. We stopped, ate and swam at a tea garden on the way. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swartberg Mountain Tours also viewed

 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Swartberg Mountain Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing