We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good”

Brian's Grill and Family Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 42 Restaurants in Oudtshoorn
Price range: US$3 - US$12
Cuisines: Chinese, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Brian’s Grill & Family Restaurant, established in September 2010 in Oudtshoorn is a family dining restaurant, with great ambiance. Our restaurant boasts of well prepared a la carte dishes and we are open from 08h00 to late, 7 days a week. We cater to every taste as we offer a variety of dishes including Ostrich, Crocodile and Venison.
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We were on our way back from the Prince Albert Olive Festival, footsore, exhausted and starving. The huge Brian's Grill sign looked very inviting, so we decided to give it a try.
Our waitress was very friendly, our drinks arrived puntually, and the steak just like we ordered it: rare. The gourmet bacon and cheese sauce was a perfect add-on. And the decadent red velvet cheese cake a perfect way to round off the meal. Will recommend this restaurant to any of my friends

Helpful?
1 Thank JolindyDreyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    89
    49
    23
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cape town
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It did the Job.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

My food was ok, the service was ok, and the ambiance ... well just ok !!. I am not sure its the place I would splash out on a good meal, but it did the job, and I was ok with it. My Chinese starter was the best part of the evening !!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank capeguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking
Level Contributor
218 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Don't be off as we loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Last night we happened upon Brian's Grill and were thrilled with our find. Reading the TA reviews this morning at breakfast you'd think everyone went to a different place. The food was plain and excellent, the Chinese not on offer last night so maybe we wouldn't have it enjoyed it so much had it been an option. I had the Karoo lamb chops and they were cooked to perfection, my husband had an enormous kebab which hung on a strange contraption; again it was perfectly cooked with tender rare bits of steak interspersed with peppers. Our bar man looked after us well, I wish I'd asked his name as he couldn't have been more helpful. The beer was kept well, my wine (after sampling several options) a good choice. We give Brian's Grill the big thumbs up and 5 stars, if you get the chance to swing by don't miss it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magglington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanghai
Level Contributor
248 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“try the ostrich!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Yes, the drinks are small and expensive, the food takes a bit to come. But I disagree with the previous reviews concerning the quality of the food. We had excellent ostrich and crocodile meat!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ffrige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A big disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

We ordered ostrich filet I think the bird must of died of old age it was so tough. We ve eaten in so many restaurants along the Garden Road and the food's been really good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brian's Grill and Family Restaurant also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Brian's Grill and Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing