We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Misleading Website!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amber Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amber Lagoon
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Misleading Website!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I recently book a stay for 4 adults and three kids at this establishment in the Kudu Stone cottage.
On arrival I realized I made a huge mistake! The bottom room is extremely cramped and the kettle didn't work. The upstairs bedroom isn't even part of the cottage...you need to climb a ladder to get to it and the extra mattress on the floor was paper thin...was not going to let my 5 year old daughter sleep on that in the middle of the winter in the Karoo!!!! There is NO hot water...be warned!!!!! you need to go to the main house which is quite far from the cottage!!!! And the toilet is also situated outside the cottage...upstairs quite a walk...def not child friendly at all! Very much a backpackers!!! Must say it was clean...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanetrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    13
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed at Amber Lagoon in April 2014. The property is essentially in big garden of desert plants with thatch-roofed huts, a swimming pool, and fantastic views of the surrounding Little Karoo. The kitchen and bathrooms are very clean and well-kept. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. Best of all, no wifi, no bar, not even any shops nearby. If you want to leave the fast-paced modern world behind and come see an impeccable starry sky, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lukas97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were there with our motor home, so we didn't use the rooms, why I can't rate them. But the rest was so good, that we prolonged our stay from one to a total of three nights.
Kurt's ostrich specialities and vegetable dishes are definitively a highlight. The generous swimming pool and sanitary facilities very clean and tastefully decorated. We enjoyed cooling down there after the hot day's trips around Klein Karoo.
It's a bit remote (20km out of Oudtshoorn), but it's worth the few km more.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We had not researched much before we chose The place and we were so glad about it when we came there. I loved its genuine country spirit and style. Everything there is so natural and not over polished. The atmosphere is very relaxed. Up the hill you can find a nice spot for sunset watching

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

Spend a good night @ Amber Lagoon!Beside there is no lagoon there is very nice hosting and community. If you go there ask for a tour on earnies ostrich farm! We can truly recommand thist one and kurt's ostrich gulasch!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schwafelbacke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Amber lagoon is peaceful with beautiful views, it is remote but a great location. The accommodation is quirky and interesting and hand built by the owners, however it is not as it is presented on their website or on Safari-now (where we booked our stay). It is not as modern, clean and furnished as it looks on the website - and the pool was thick with algae and creatures swimming in it. We booked the Kudu cottage as it was self-catering - it had a fridge and an outdoor gas stove, which is fine if you know what to expect. The bathroom and cool showers available for use outside the Kudu cottage were infested with a lot of mosquitos, but there were some warm showers available at the main house. The directions are inaccurate on the safari.now booking page. We paid R200 per person for this stay which we felt was over-priced for what it was. R100-R120 would be more appropriate for the standard of accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenPayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Carlos, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

This backpacker was really surprising. To get there, we took a rust road, but that's ok, because then we enter in this "climate" of desert, in the middle of nowhere. We got there at night, starving. Suzzane made us some tasty pancakes for good prices. She is a really good staff. All the place is very different, the views are amazing!! The shared dorm is on the top of the house. They have a pool there. The price is really cheap, specially if I compare to the others backpackers that I've stayed in Garden Route. The breakfast isn't included, but for few rands, you can have a good one there!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flavia_Barone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.0 mi away
Lodge 96
Lodge 96
#25 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages
0.0 mi away
Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm
0.0 mi away
Backpackers Oasis Shanti
Backpackers Oasis Shanti
#28 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Stone Hills
Red Stone Hills
#9 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Lagoon

Property: Amber Lagoon
Address: Langverwacht Road, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Amber Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing