We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Rental for a family reunion”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lodge, with Swartberg Mountains
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lodge, with Swartberg Mountains
The Lodge is surrounded with wide patios Diningroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
19 reviews
Lodge, with Swartberg Mountains
The Lodge is surrounded with wide patios
Diningroom
A comfy corner of the Lounge
Endangered Cape Mountain Zebra and foal
Karoo thorn tree, which the giraffe love to eat
Head in the clouds, your neighbours
Patio outside bedrooms
Pool with a view
Mountain scenery, for the energetic to explore
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ohio, USA
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012 for a stay in December 2011
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CesCastig...
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value and fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Our three day stay at this wonderful private game lodge was an experience in a life time. Everything about the staff and what is on offer can only be commended. We were offered the very best hospitality and feel great affection for Monty and Nadine!

The Owner and staff are fully committed to a totally sustainable approach to running this facility and you get very close to nature during your stay.

The rates are extremely competative for what you get and we left feeling that we had great value overall. There are also many hidden treasures to be explored in the region.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2012
Thank you to our guest for the wonderful feedback. We are delighted that the Lodge has been enjoyed by many over the past months.

We have taken the decision to convert Swartberg Private Game Lodge to an exclusive holiday rental property.
Guests are now renting the Lodge, for groupsof up to twelve guests, on a self-catering basis. There is a fantastice farm-style kitchen in the Lodge.

The area is very safe and easy to explore, providing a great game-viewing experience in spectacular scenery. A game-viewing vehicle is available for rental.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El-Rina
Cape Town, Western Cape
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE - HIGHLY RECOMMENDABLE!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011 for a stay in April 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you for a wonderful week end! Nadine and Monty were the perfect hosts. Rooms are beautifully decorated and very spacious. The game drives were amazing and we couldn't believe how many animals we saw - loved the baby giraffes! The food was delicious, best lamb shank I ever had. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2011
Thank you to our guests for the feedback. It is wonderful to know that Swartberg provides such pleasure. Please note: RATES as shown on Trip Advisor are INCORRECT. In spite of trying to get this rectified, to date it has been unsuccessful. Please refer to the Ldoge's website for correct rates, and special offers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizette10
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not enough words to describe!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011 for a stay in December 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you to our hosts Monte and Nadine for making our stay absolutely perfect!!! Our kids have never seen so many wild animals in their lives and was totally amaized at all the girraffe's on the farm as it is their absolute favourite! The rooms are extremely spacious and even though we shared our room with our two small children, we never felt crowded. The food was excellent - thank you Nadine!! If you decide to travel here and visit the farm make some time to visit the Cango Caves and Cangoo Wildlife as well as some of the other attractions in and around Oudtshoorn. You will be very sorry that you have missed out on this fantastic places once you have left!

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tricontin...
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing and exciting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011 for a stay in December 2010

During December, wanting to escape the extremely cold weather in the USA, my adult daughter and I decided to visit a game reserve and experience Africa, but also wanted to be comfortable, safe & in a malaria free area.

I was concerned about driving , but the directions provided on the website were easy to follow and our small rental car had no trouble with the dirt roads, which are well maintained and easy to drive on. ( I learned later that the lodge also provides a pick up service if you would prefer not to drive yourself.)
The rooms were extremely comfortable with every possible need catered for. .At night Lechwe & Nyala slept on the lawns below our rooms, and one morning we awoke to Impala & Kudu bulls walking past.
Meals % atmosphere were superb and Monti and Nadine were wonderful hosts. Thank you! It was great to share experiences around the supper table with other guests. It felt as if we were visiting family, just we did not have to lift a finger. Our every whim was catered for.

On the first day it rained heavily(We thought we had escaped this weather) so we took the opportunity to visit the nearby Cango Caves in the morning. Worth a visit.

By afternoon the weather cleared up and we went on the first of many game drives (early morning, afternoon and a night drive). Nothing can describe the excitement of seeing abundant magnificent animals in such beautiful surroundings! It is a great pity the website can not give you a feel for the atmosphere of this magnificent lodge. We also took the opportunity to go on a guided quad bike ride. FUN! The reserve is home to the very rare & endangered Cape Mountain Zebra. What is truly unique is the fact that you can walk anywhere in the reserve in complete safety. We even tried our hand at Bass fishing, without luck. ( The other guests caught a couple of Bass)

Our photographs have already been the envy of our friends back home. Even more gratifying, was the abundant birdlife & the tranquillity of the reserve. Early evening the Swifts clouded the sky in their hunt for insects. We watched this phenomenon in awe. Photo opportunities are plentiful and you get very close to the game.

We highly recommend a visit ! We sincerely hope to be back soon!

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter1953...
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue, personal service, space - and lots of it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011 for a stay in February 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We spent one night at Swartberg Game Lodge, and it was a wonderful experience. Rooms beautifully appointed, large and airy. So much attention to detail. Our host and hostess were fantastic - warm welcome, good food and very informative on the game drive. Even though we had just come from Kruger National Park, the game drive was well worth while.

4 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Visit was for: Business
Travelling group: Colleagues
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grootebro...
grootebroek
1 review
“Great stay, we felt sorry to leave after 3 nights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2010 for a stay in November 2010

What a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are spacious and well decorated and with a spectacular view on the mountains. Monty and Nadine are great hosts and do everything to make your stay comfortable. We enjoyed the game drives and the food was delicious and presented very well. We hope to come back one day.
Cees and Rina
The Netherlands

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing