We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful place in a beautiful setting”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodge is surrounded with wide patios
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The Lodge is surrounded with wide patios
Lodge, with Swartberg Mountains
Endangered Cape Mountain Zebra and foal
Karoo thorn tree, which the giraffe love to eat
Head in the clouds, your neighbours
Patio outside bedrooms
Pool with a view
Mountain scenery, for the energetic to explore
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

PHSM_10
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful place in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 8 December 2010 for a stay in December 2010
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I wanted to spend the last two nights of our one month honeymoon in South Africa in a game lodge within driving distance of Cape Town and were very happy to have found SPGL after having researched it and all the competition in the Western Cape. Having done several safaris up in Kruger beforehand we did not have high expectations of the game drives at SPGL, however they have a lot of game running around on the 2,000 hectar estate and over two days we did a very nice regular game drive, a quad bike drive and a guided fishing trip with the manager, Monty, and his son, Michael, and we all caught a few bass! The location of the lodge is stunning with the estate being surrounded by high mountains on all sides, our superior room was very large and comfortable and the food was absolutely first class, up there with the very best that we had during a long culinary stay in South Africa. Managers Nadine and Monty were exceptional and spent a lot of time with us, which we thoroughly enjoyed and made us feel privileged. All in all we can highly recommend this place as everything was perfect (but do not expect a Kruger style big 5 experience) and would love to go back.

Date of stay: December 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrissi24...
Monchengladbach, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“an indescribable place to be”
Reviewed 5 December 2010 for a stay in November 2010
1
person found this review helpful

you must have seen this wonderful place to understand, how beautiful it is. It is difficult to describe it in words. We have never seen something like this before. Nadine and Monty made our stay unforgettable. We felt from the first second welcome. Our stay was to short but we are sure, we will come back!! Thanks a lot for this little dream :-) C & B from Germany

Date of stay: November 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidbg
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“words cannot describe enough the hospitality”
Reviewed 14 November 2010 for a stay in October 2010
1
person found this review helpful

What a fantastic stay we had with Monty and Nadine it felt like a long weekend with good friends - perfect we WILL go back

Date of stay: October 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael52...
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning setting, warm hospitality, great food.”
Reviewed 16 January 2010 for a stay in December 2009
2
people found this review helpful

Stunning setting against the dramatic Swartberg Mountains. Their website completely understates it.

Hosts were a very personable and friendly young couple with whom one felt completely at home. The food was exceptional and the rooms spacious and comfortable.

The Lodge itself has the peace and calm of an old karoo farmhouse. Nicely secluded and off the main track. Cannot accommodate too many guests at once, so a very "personal" feel to the stay.

Lots of different antelope to see, a few giraffe and the threatened Cape Mountain Zebra. At this time of the year the birdlife was abundant. Several breeding pairs of blue cranes with chicks were a highlight. Would recommend taking binoculars.

Don't expect to see the big five. No visible predators. Game viewing would be regarded as too "tame" by some. Game drive vehicle offered great photographic opportunities nevertheless. Some other guest with children made good use of the available quad bikes for their own game drives. I took the opportunity to walk for miles which is completely safe (but the game is more approachable from the vehicles for some reason).

Good use made of the swimming pool. Difficult to believe that the mountains just above the Lodge have snow on them in winter. The many aloes in the veld apparently also only flower in winter.

If you are looking for a very relaxing break in a typical Little Karoo setting with every creature comfort attended to, Swartberg Private Game Lodge can be highly recommended.

Date of stay: December 2009
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeisterGl...
Thalwil, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Paare
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
23 Feb 2012
Swartberg Private Game Lodge is unfortunately no longer available as a hosted and catered holiday destination. However, the property is now available as a stunning holiday rental property. It is serviced daily, and offers a superb getaway, in a spectacular environment, and is ideal for special family holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olitschka
Bremen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: October 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Paare
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polartrav...
Bremen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: October 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Paare
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.